Cooking Shrimp Paste with Tomatoes (First Try)

20210317_115901.png

This dish for today's blog was one of the most common side dish in the Philippines. (this might be categorized as condiments too) Not only that, we made it as partner when eating unriped mangoes, singkamas and my favorite one was combo with fried eggplant. During summer season, the demand of shrimp paste quite higher maybe because of the mango pick season was around April and May.

I remember last year when we were in lockdown, there is a huge mango tree just close to our house but sadly this month, that tree was cut by the land owner. I felt so bad and pity for the tree that's been there maybe I guess several decades ago.

Going back to our topic, I don't prefer to cooked bagoong with tomatoes. It's kinda confusing why some people add tomatoes when cooking bagoong 'cause I knew in some cases having a tomatoes in some dishes makes them to spoil faster. My fiance told me about putting tomato so I have no choice but to try it.

These are some basic ingredients that I used:

20210317_120353.png

Garlic, onion, green chili, and I'm gonna fry 3 pieces of large eggplant.

20210317_120126.png

I saute first tomatoes and allow it to look like a puree. After a minute I add garlic, onion and green chili. Give it a good stir and let it simmer for a couple of minutes. I gradually add oil 'cause tomato absorb the oil that I put awhile ago.

20210317_120017.png

Then I add bagoong and stir 'till well incorporated. I add vinegar and allow it to cook with it and put some salt and sugar too. It actually helps bagoong to act as an additional preservatives and removed the bad smell came from bagoong plus it helps to balance the taste after onwards.

By the way, I already fry eggplant earlier. You can cut it according to your desire length. Some people liked to add more vinegar and transfer some bagoong as a dip for bagoong. Other dish that uses bagoong is called Pork Binagoongan. It's almost the same but they added pork chunks.

20210317_115207.png

This is it guys, I would say that adding tomatoes add more color that blends to oil that makes it reddish. The taste is well balance with sweet and sour yet salty. Love love it ❤

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency