Obedience


Link

The next day his parents go out for dinner. He tells them' he is feeling alright and asks them not to worry. His parents intend to take him to the new restaurant in town. He asks if he can go there alone, saying he needs to be alone and it will cheer him up. He has a feeling something bad is happening. He asks them to start the car. He will drive them there and back again.

As for dinner, he says he will cook them a meal. He tells them his famous spaghetti-egg-and-sausages dish he invented. They tell him it's fine if he makes them dinner, as they are going out anyway. He is relieved.

He goes upstairs and starts to work on his invention. After about thirty minutes, he hears something behind him. He turns and sees a small fairy standing there. She tells him she has come to help him with his invention. She pushes the button on the side of the machine. It is working! He is so happy.

Somehow the food is ready when they return. She asks him to come back to the livingroom. She asks him 'Do you think you can make me a birthday present?' He smiles and replies 'I am sure I can!' She points to a box. He looks at her and says 'I don't understand'

'This is the box your parents gave you for your birthday. The box of your dreams'

She continues 'You can open it when you are good. For being good, every time you do good, I will give you the trust to live up to the trust you have given me'

She disappears. He looks at the box, confused. 'That is what my parents told me. And I suppose it makes sense, but I don't get why it is here I mean. I honestly don't know what's going on'.

He tries to open the box, but can't. He turns around and sees the box on the floor. He needs to be good. For being good. For being good, he needs to be able to do good things. He has to be able to open the box. 'What do I have to do?'

'There is a moral inside the box,' she tells him. 'You have to interpret it then act upon it.'

'I don't understand. What does being good mean?'

'The moral inside of the box is 'you need to have a good heart'

'That's not really a good moral. It would mean if I didn't have a good heart, I would not be able to open the box.'

'Well,' she replies, 'it could mean that. But that is what you need to find out. You need to read this and figure out what this means.'

'Are you going to answer any of my questions?'

'No. I'm just here for the summer, have fun.'

He contemplates saying 'But you are only going away for a summer,' but he knows there will be no answer. There is silence. 'Ok'

'Well,' she replies, 'not exactly, you have to be good. Only when you are good can you be with me again. No good, no box.'

'So,' he says, 'I suppose I am stuck. If I can't be good, I can't open it. But if I don't open it, I'm stuck forever.'

'But he can't be stuck forever! Can he?'

'I don't know,' she replies, 'maybe'

He opens the box. Inside the box is a tiny feather. 'What is this?'

'I guess this is my present to you.'

'But what is it for? How does it help me?'

'Try and think about it.'

'I think it's in the box, but how does it help me?'

She does not respond. Not sure what to do, he takes the feather out of the box. Something occurs to him.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency