Fun Down By The River Dart

untitled_shoot_4917.jpg

A couple of years ago, I had the pleasure of staying near Biddeford in Devon, it was a great holiday, and I was in a very experimental mood with my photography.
Taking my little Canon EOS M3, we headed out over Dartmoor to a place called Badgers Holt.
untitled_shoot_4881_edit.jpg

I'm not sure what it used to be, but there are lots of old bridges there, some which were just massive slabs of rock over the East Dart River.

Click here for the location on Google Maps!

untitled_shoot_4906_edit.jpg

I visited the place in 2018, and there was a fantastic cafe there, the cream tea with home made scone (and possible the jam was home made too) was just divine, I'm hoping the place is still open after the lockdown etc.

untitled_shoot_4914_edit_2.jpg

The day started out very cloudy and a bit cool, we were one of the first at Badgers Holt, but as the weather cleared, the crowds came, before you knew it, there was hardly anywhere to move.
untitled_shoot_4881_edit_2.jpg
A nightmare as I was wanting to get some shots, I decided to do some long exposures of the area, I did risk dropping my camera in the water on some of the shots as I was in very precarious places, once I'd lined my shot up, someone decided to walk over the rocks or just stand there while I was waiting.
Even with long exposures, it was hard to get shots without people in them, however, it was a great day out.
Had a gorgeous drive over Dartmoor and it was fantastic to see the ponies there in real life, I'd only ever seen them on TV before, they are beautiful creatures, sadly, didn't get any pics of them.

On the way back, we stopped at a place that was designated to Gnomes, I thought I'd post a pic of that as it made me chuckle.untitled_shoot_4922.jpg

Great place and great area of the UK to visit, gorgeous coastal towns and fantastic countryside.

Thanks for reading my post, if you'd like to follow me on Instagram please click here!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency