Tales From The Circ Side

Open The Gates!



Source

After a very long stretch (Since October 24th of last year) of being closed to the public and limited only to curbside and in person computer appointments, we opened the doors of our library to the public today. Even though I have to say that at times I enjoyed the solitude of the people-free library, the whole raison d'etre​*for the institution's existence is to be a place of discovery for the people. Let's just say I have missed doing my actual job.

And let me tell you, today's reintegration back into the realm of public service started off with a bang! It took months for us to inform our locals that we were only open for curbside holds pickup and computer use appointments, yet somehow, they all got the memo that we were open again. Not that I minded, I missed all of my regular patrons and cheerfully let them know that sentiment. As in all things though, when dealing with the public you have to deal with all the personalities, and while I was helping a local homeschooling mother that is firmly in the anti-mask camp, I became aware of one of our town's more opinionated and rather vociferous residents eyeballing the mother with all sorts of morally pompous disdain.

I helped the mother and her daughter check out their items and moved on to the local battle axe. I knew she would be full of some form of indignation and as I haven't had to deal with people for a while, I found I was looking forward to the interaction. She opened strong,

"Thank you so much for wearing your mask appropriately. I'm so glad to be back, it's just a shame that people don't do what they are supposed to do."

Now, the number one rule of library employeedom is that we are not to be political when working with patrons, we must remain neutral. I usually don't have any problem with this edict as I tend to be more on the understanding and amused side when it comes to people and their perpetual need to assert their opinion dominance. However, as I was in such a good mood today because we were actually open, I just couldn't resist a bit of fun with Madame Opinion Supreme.

I smiled at her as I scanned her item and asked her if she wanted her receipt, she continued,

"We need to make people follow the rules since they can't seem to do it themselves."

"Good ideas don't require force." I replied in my most sincere and sweet tone.

IMG_1356.jpg

This particular scribe knew a thing or two about the human psyche.

Now here's the thing with dominant, over-exuberant in their subjective opinion personalities, it scrambles their operating system when you are direct yet sincere in delivering an opinion at them, I could see her subroutine glitch as she took a step back and looked at me with wide eyes. You see, I wasn't being combative or contradictory to her, plus as she was a schoolteacher for the duration of her career, I could see that what I had said wasn't what she expected. Most people who are LOUD in projecting their beliefs are usually looking for a battle of righteousness in the public square, they either want affirmation from sycophantic obsequious bandwagoning or equally vehement opposition. I just wanted to help her get what she was looking for and to have a pleasant interchange.

"Well, uh, I'm glad to be able to visit again." she blurted as she made for the door.

"I am so happy that you are back too!" I chirped with complete sincerity.

Because you know what, I am seriously elated to have my community coming through the doors again, even my more challenging​ patrons. They mean just as much to me as the sweet and even keeled creatures who walk through the door, for they are a part of my herd, and who said anything about families being made of all the same elements? Don't get me wrong though, I am a very fallible human. There are sometimes that I see a certain patron coming towards the doors and I inwardly groan because they are the last person I want to see. That's wrong of me. If anything, I learn and grow as a person far more from my interactions with those whom I'd rather avoid than with the pleasant patrons who wander through my realm. I mean, seagulls can be annoying, but they are entertaining on occasion too.

IMG_1355.jpg

Maybe next time I will caw, caw at her.



And unless otherwise cited, the images in this post were taken on the author's elated and incapable of being frustrated iPhone.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency