I paid 6300 Hive for a Hive Folk NFT, almost, but seriously WHAT A WAKE UP CALL

I've happily supported many projects on Hive over the years, so I was happy enough to spunk 80 Hive on one @dlux Hive Folk NFT, I have played around with Dlux before (I'm one of the very few to have done so I think) and I've got more DLUX than most for sure, so this was a trusted source.

Hive folks are limited edition NFTs, some (I think it's some, it might be all of them) of which are based on various accounts on the Hive blockchain. The announcement post is here.

So i clicked on the option on the Dlux site to purchase one for 80 Hive, and then duly had a quick look on Hiveblocks to check and see if the tx had gone through.

Imagine my surprise when I saw that I'd transferred 6300 Hive to the dlux community account.

Screenshot 2021-12-10 at 19.19.49.png

TX https://hiveblocks.com/tx/5b3c70fc36ad9b3f1b7e51c7a5a6268e94afd101

I got a refund sharpish, but I ended up with 3 NFTs rather than one (the max mint was three), there were offers to buy back but I decided I may as well hang on to all three, you never know.

But honestly, trust and refund and 'not that much harm done' what an absolute shit show this was.

And a reminder to be VERY careful when you're clicking on anything - just because an app says 'pay 80 Hive', this doesn't mean that's what's occurring in the back end.

At the end end of the day it's been a useful reminder for me to remove some of my liquid hive to an account I use less often, that way with the next project I want to support, I simply won't have the liquid funds available to make such ridiculous transfers.

As the the NFTs - I got three, I'm not sure if two of them are supposed to be people, but I recognise @isaria, not a bad Face to pick up!

Screenshot 2021-12-10 at 19.23.14.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency