Why Now?

I had a thought when I went to sleep last night that the surge in STEEM price would inevitably make it a target for hackers, and unfortunately that has already come to pass. Hopefully this is a small and isolated event, as it would be a shame for a system with such promise to be derailed by malicious forces. I'm an early investor in NeuCoin, and while I'm getting decent returns on PoS minting, the value of the coin has been destroyed by fraudulent users taking advantage of the freemium distribution model. Hopefully the Jango tie-up is enough to bring NeuCoin out of the doldrums, and my investing horizon is over 5 years, so there is still time. But it's still sad.

Back to the title. . . why start blogging now? There have been so many avenues for self-expression on the internet for so long, so why stay quiet? Part of it has to do with working in finance - there are so many regulations on communication that it's simply easier to stay quiet than try to go through the loopholes of getting communications approved. Also, I realized that a "blog" was the wrong platform for me (and likely for most people), because there are just too many disparate things I'd like to discuss. I can't really talk about gardening if I start a finance blog. I shouldn't really comment on politics if my blog is discussing the proper spacing for indeterminate tomatoes. I can't discuss the ups and downs of fatherhood on a blog dedicated to training my jack russell terrier.

Facebook doesn't lend itself to blog-style posting. I've seen long diatribes posted there, and it just doesn't work. I never really used reddit, not sure if that really fits the bill. And a dedicated blog would be too. . . dedicated.

So here we are. Full steem ahead!

P.S. Here's a dedicated finance blog worth reading: http://www.mrmoneymustache.com/ He's very effective with touching on a host of topics. The new content is coming at a trickle, but reading through the back catalog is worthwhile, if only to provide an interesting perspective on one's relationship with money.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center