Nerve Damage

“How are you not upset about it? How did you not sue the doctor?”, is the most common response when I tell people why my right eye is slightly ‘strange’. Honestly, I’ve never looked at it as a problem. I mean, my vision is fine (at least I hope it is) and I think its ridiculous when eye doctors say, “have you considered surgery? I mean..for cosmetic purposes?” HA!

I think my eye is pretty cool, especially when it scares people; and I’m grateful for it.But something happened one night that gave me one more reason to be grateful for it.

In the month of December 2014, I was out carol singing with some really lovely people in Pune. We entered this one house where we saw a little boy, lying down on the floor, unable to move.

Obviously, we felt horrible about it, thinking about what he must have gone through.

We sang; and he sang with us, with a smile on his face. When we were done, we quietly walked out.

But somebody had to ask what had happened to him; and somebody else had the answer –

“Spinal cord damage”

“How?”

The exact same way the nerves in my eye were damaged. A doctor in the surgery room made a mistake while handling the foreceps.

How am I not upset about my eye? Because it is nothing compared to what so many others go through. 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center