This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Coin Grab Bag - Highlight #3 1882-H & 1918 Canada 1 Cent


20230810_153926-COLLAGE.jpg

Got a Pile of Coins - And a nice Lunch

PXL_20230801_210824348.jpg
This is the third post from the collection of coins that I bought from my coworker and friend. These were a bunch of coins he put into a grab bag for me and the predetermined price of $50 and I picked this set of coins because I got such a wide variety of stuff I didn't have and and not very likely to find in abundance. It's all foreign and most of it has silver although these particular coins do not. Today's post is going to highlight the two Canadian copper 1 cent pieces that I got. There's one from 1882 that was minted and Halifax and there's one that was minted in 1918. Shows two beautiful designs on two good looking bronze coins that are well over a hundred years old. Let's take a look at each one and see some specs on them.
...

image.png

Canadian 1882-H 1 Cent

1882-H Canada 1 Cent
DesignerLeonard C Wyon
CompositionBronze
Weight5.67 g
Diameter25.5mm
Mintage4,000,000

Details from Numista

I like these Canadian 1 cent pieces. While they are made out of bronze and not copper which is my favorite they look pretty nice and the 1882 is $145ish years old which is kind of crazy. Luckily Ron's holds up fairly well over time and while I'm not giving this coin a grade I think it is a nice example. They were 4 million minted which means that there's probably still plenty of them out in circulation and in good condition.

1882 H Canada 1 Cent Obverse

PXL_20230801_211114559.jpg
I struggle to take good photographs of these coins, I felt like the focus kept being on something close to but not exactly the coin itself. If you zoom in you can't see some of the detail, but not as nice as I wanted. These are the traditional type of corners that we seen today were the coin is celebrating the ruler of the time and therefore has their portrait on it. It reminds me very much of the barber and seated liberty focused money of the US around the same time.
...

1882 H Canada 1 Cent Reverse

PXL_20230801_211132761.jpg
Very similar to the three and six pence they have the symbology of a leaf and a Vine going around the outside of the coin while having a very simplistic and easy to read denomination and mint mark.
....

Canadian 1918 1 Cent

1918 Canada 1 Cent
DesignerE B MacKennai
CompositionBronze
Weight5.67 g
Diameter25.5mm
Mintage4,000,000

Details from Numista

1918 Canada 1 Cent Obverse

I honestly think I like the obverse of the 1918 better. Design just seems to be cleaner, but I'm not sure if it's because it's a slightly higher grade and it just looks cleaner to my eye than the 1882. Or maybe the biggest in print is the bigger bust of the ruler and the removal of the second ring of dots that just makes it cleaner image.
PXL_20230801_211037327.jpg

1918 Canada 1 Cent Reverse

PXL_20230801_211055216.jpg

Can't say hi like one reverse more than the other because it's the same design. They didn't change us at all between the years and just reused it. Can't say I didn't like like it on the 1882 so clearly I like it on the 1918. I think it looks good.

Back to silver next time

I know these aren't precious metals or silver but they were all part of the original collection of coins that I bought. Next post will definitely go back to Silver and see what denomination and country these are from. I still have quite a few to look at and they're all new to me.

image.png