Weaving, Looms and Yarn

At one point in my life, I wanted to learn how to weave rugs. After I took a trip to Cairo, Egypt and I saw some beautifully handcrafted rugs, I decided I wanted to make a rug. Well, weaving is not an easy task. I was able to pick up a secondhand loom and some yarn from a school auction sale. I also purchased a book to help me figure out the process.

image

At first, it was fine. I soon realized that the small school loom was not going to be sufficient for what I wanted. I started trying to find a floor model loom, but I did not have the space for it in my home.

So, I’ve put away this particular interest but I kept it in case I wanted to come back to it another day. As I was looking at the yarn that I bought for weaving, I wondered if there was another use for it in either knitting or crocheting.

image

image

Some of the thread is made out of cotton, and some out of some type of acrylic, and some I believe to be 100% wool.

image

image

I hope that some of the ladies within the needlework community will have some ideas or solutions for my dilemma. I’m all ears.

image

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency