My Crochet Journey

Hello crafters. My name is Jonalyn. A simple housewife and a mother of two. An IT by profession who feel in love with crochet. Today, I decided to share with you on how it started.

img_0.6176433655323512.jpg

Year 2011, my sister Jennisa taught me the basic stitch of crochet. I was already 24 year-old then. We used mercerized cotton and a 1.5mm steel hook we have bought from a store in cebu.

The tutorial went smooth that I was able to make a small pouch that was made of double crochet only on that same day. I was amazed and happy.

So everyday, after my work, I was enjoying my free time in our room, crocheting and searching on the internet some designs and stitches that I can copy.

img_0.6907759445545506.jpg

Until I was able to sell some of my crochet purse and cellphone cases with cute designs. Then I also tried to make my first bag that turned into a skirt after and sold it eventually to my co-worker.

Then one day, a nurse was assigned to our department asked me to make a 2-piece swimwear. I never refused even if I don't have any idea how to make one. I just remember asking a pair of her bikini set so I will have an idea of her measurement. I don't have a tape measure at that time and we have no time also taking her measurements.

When I got home, I was busy browsing the internet. I tried to copy the video tutorial but end up making a toddler's panty. Yes, it was frustrating because I can't find a perfect tutorial that time. But I didn't give up.

It took me many trials before i made a decent one. Then,I gave it to her and waited for her feedback. A week after, to my surprise, she ordered again. This time 2 sets of swimwear.

img_0.9635018908389963.jpg

Can you believe how happy I was that time? It was because I accept the challenge. To make something that I don't have any idea how to start with. But that didn't stop me because I love my craft.
I find happiness everytime I'm doing it. It was not just about the idea of making a money out of it.

As years passed, I was improving. Because I never said no to my clients. I made crochet wearables from babies to adults, bags and even earrings.

img_0.7605647704195662.jpg

Crochet is part of my life. A day without it is boring. It's like making beautiful magic with my wand. It also brings food on our table. And helps our everyday expenses. And Yes, I am a crochetpreneur mom.

On my next post, I'll be giving tips on how to be an effective and competent crochet crafter. Expect also some steps accompanied with pictures on small projects like earrings, pouches, cellphone cover and many more. Keep tuning in. Have a nice day ahead and God bless us all.

Special thanks to Miss @rowee22 and Miss @romeskie for inspiring me to write. Thank you..😘

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency