Summer arrives in Norfolk

Forgive me folks. Its been a long old time since I last made a blog post. Back then this was steemit and I see many dramas have occurred in my absence.

Norfolk has had a pretty cold and miserable spring, but last week brought about a big change and now we have hot weather, beautiful sunshine and many burnt people.

This bank holiday Monday I took advantage of the new weather to get back into some wild places and find some cool creatures and plants to photograph

P5310162.jpg
(bird's-foot trefoil blooming in Glanford)

I visited a new place for me, Kelling heath. I was hoping to find the beautiful Emperor moth, which I have never seen before, as it's the end of their flight season. Sadly no moths but I do look forward to making a more determined effort to find them next year. I did however find this lovely Small Copper butterfly, a first of the year form me.

P5310032.jpg
(Small Copper at Kelling Heath)

After Kelling Heath I headed to an old favorite haunt, a delightfull river valley full of wildlife called Glanford. There was insect life in perfusion and wildflowers galore in the flood plain.

P5310133.jpg
(A mayfly taking a rest)

I was unable to photograph a beautiful blue kingfisher that zipped passed at high speed, or the handsome greater spotted woodpecker with his blood red rump. I did however have great time photographing flowers and dragonflies and I spent a while following a giant hornet in the hope of finding its nest. A mission for another day!

P5310170.jpg
(Red Campion on the flood plain at Glanford)

P5310201.jpg
(A dragonfly watching for prey)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency