A kingdom of mushrooms - Fairy Landscapes

facebook_1614102701608_6770037417765248143.jpg

Do you like fairies?

Mushrooms in the deep forest always make me think of them.

Especially when they actually look like a tiny house like the one I caught right here.
_DSC5850.JPG

Also, every time I read about the fungi they refer to the species as ‘The kingdom’ I find it amusing.

_DSC5754.JPG

Did you know that mushrooms do not need light to live? Unlike plants.
My favourite kinds are the poisonous ones.
They have the most interesting looks and ingredients and as a pharmacist I really appreciate them. They gave us penicillin, beta glucans and recently developing psilocybin drugs.
_DSC7970.JPG

There are also many species of mushrooms that glow in the dark.

The ability to do that is called bioluminescence.
Many creatures in the ocean have it, like some planktons and jellyfishes and even some deep deep water fish.
_DSC8210.JPG

Mushrooms produce a glowing light known as The Foxfire.

_DSC8006.JPG

People have been actually known to use these fungi to light their way through the woods.

_DSC7930.JPG

Isn’t that amazing? Can you imagine that picture??

_DSC7974.JPG

Anyway, I really do hope you enjoy these few facts about your favorite pizza topping and some of my best pics from my last mushroom hunt!

_DSC5829.JPG

Xoxo Maria!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency