Buzzy Bees

Yesterday I went to see my father in laws bee hives. I didn't realise he had quite so many; amounting to 100 hives! He started just under 10 years ago, when he retired as a headmaster of a local school (in Andong-Si, Korea). It was meant to be a hobby, as a way to chillax, but grew into a nice little money earner.

Unlike much of the world, honey in Korea sells at quite a premium and it's worth running multiple hives. The honey is organic, but like most Koreans, they like to re-use anything lying about and nothing is wasted, as seen in the pics!

20180924_161516.jpg
if you look carefully you can see the queen bee

20180924_160349.jpg
some of the hives

Knowing that I have always been interested in Bees, my father in law is showing me the ropes. When I return to the UK I fully intend on having a couple of hives in our garden, for personal use.

1537841037872.jpg
I'm being shown the basics!

1537841028974.jpg
Here I'm standing before many of the hives. I should point out, I look a little worse for wear as they had a party. Koreans do tend to drink far more than is healthy :)

He collects honey, propolis and pollen. It's amazing how much honey he manages to collect.

20181113_202755.jpg
An example of the propolis he sells

Sadly he's decided this is his last year working with the hives, he's now 74 and wants to takes things a little easier. He tried to convince me to stay in Korea and take over the hives, but as much as I love it here, I miss the UK and still intend on return next summer.

Thanks for reading :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now