My Introductions

I have been wondering around on some of the hive ecosystem and I have to say that I'm still in awe of everything that is happening on the chain.

Kickboxing2.jpg

Without further ado, let me give you a little brief of myself and a little of my intentions. My name is Benjamin Yeo, and I grew up from a little town called Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia. Then moved to Kuala Lumpur (City) in 1997.

image.png

I love sports and played badminton when I was in primary school (below 12), roller blading, and started figure skating when in 12, I started working as a Figure Skating coach when I was 14 (due to the Asian financial crisis), later on I went into kickboxing when i was 17 and started teaching as an apprentice till I was 20.

Kids.jpg
Me on the left with my cousins.

Ice Skating.jpg
Me of the left with figure skating team.

Kickboxing.jpg
Me in the middle in our studio

Gunung Ledang.jpg
Training martial arts above the clouds @ Gunung Ledang. With world renowned knife fighter Razak Othman (Master).

Number and Life

Started my first office job with a Feng Shui master and I immersed myself in numerology (Tibetan). He was a good boss/master and gave me lessons on business & philosophy everyday after work till late at night. I truely believed in it as we went along because everything that he taught, displayed themselves in the number that I read. It is then that I believed that there is no accident in life, things are meant to be because it was in some ways destined to be. e.g you you hangout with a group of people because they're likeminded or they had similar characteristics and when you group them up and looked at their numbers, they're all very similar - Just like atoms and molecules. I don't read everyone that I come across nowadays, because sometimes in life, less is more and discovering is part of excitement in life. I only do it when I need a win.

After sometime, I left the company and went out to pave my own path in life. I did everything under the sun, from importing cars untaxed cars, to smokable vegetables, and with that I started my a few companies. A tech company building websites, a trading company selling virgin coconut oil, and a events company. I was working all the time and only slept 3 hours a day for a couple of years.

Hustling.jpg
Hustling buddies on the highway on our last mission. Lost most of the pictures during this period of time due the theft.

Then, one day, when I was broken hearted(family), I realized that I have never left the country, I took out a globe and spun it and stopped it with one finger and it landed on Taiwan. I booked a ticket there and travelled - it was tough for me even though I'm Chinese but I could hardly speak the language and I don't read Chinese characters. It was really difficult, but I got lucky and met someone while I was making a purchase, and fell in love. So, for a couple of years I was going up and down between Malaysia and Taiwan, picked up the language (picking up new languages for Malaysians is easy because you need to speak at least 3 language here if you want to survive). Planned to settle there, everything was going well till one day I got into an accident. I was in a coma for 2 years from Mar '09 - '11.

When I woke up, I had to learn how to use my limbs again. I also found out that I lost everything that i had built and my fiancée at that time, went to a nut house for a while because she couldn't take the loss. Though I felt sad and down, I was glad that I was still alive and I wanted to do something to give back as a gesture to god for giving me a second chance in life. I visited my best friends from high school, travelled to Indonesia, went of a bike tour and came back. Then, I contacted an acquaintance and made some arrangements and in two weeks I was in Cambodia with a Christian missionary teaching there. While I was there I picked up cycling, and I did quite some travel just with my bike.

Sanjaya Family.jpg
Best friends and family @ Semarang Indonesia.

Bike Tour.jpg
Touring Indonesia, I think this was probably my 3rd tour.

Bike Collection.jpg
Friends Bike collection - not showing everything for security. but there's over 100 bikes and nearly 300 cars.

Teaching.jpg
A picture while i was learning how to teach.

Painting.jpg
Photo after painting a church. Me - bottom right.

While I was teaching, I got a phone call, and was asked to help lobby a program with the Cambodian Government. They accepted the proposal and the second chapter of my life began. I left the school soon after and started promoting FDI for the Cambodian Government. Its no longer a myth, and I find it very true that when the student is ready the master will appear. It is during this my first conference that I met my second teacher in life. He was invited to the conference to talk about commodity prices and forecasting. We clicked the first time we met and from there on he flew from Singapore to Cambodia to visit me and during each visit he would tutor me on the Financial Markets.

I was permanently based in Cambodia for a couple of years flying between countries, because after the first conference word got out and neighboring countries started inviting us to run program for them. I promoted FDI for Vietnam, Indonesia, some workshops in Thailand then Myanmar. I was on the move all the time, juggling between work, travel and studies. I promoted FDI for various sectors like Agriculture, Power/Renewable Energy, Infrastructure, Transport, City planning to Smart Cities to Tourism Cities etc. It was honestly life on the move because for each sector I had to learn everything from the bottom and I had to bring my knowledge up to par with professionals in each sector in order to enroll them to to whatever initiative the government wants to roll out. I had to go through so many thing and to me, it was a period of learning and applying at the same time. Sometimes, certain things couldn't be learnt over the internet and I had to learn from industry professionals. Honestly, I felt that I was blessed the entire way because most of the people I meet, is willing to share information and sometimes teach me things.

I did so many things during this period of time and it would take a very long time to document everything that I did. So, I would share them in pictures because they speak a thousand words and perhaps share some of them in my future blogs.

Long story cut short, I had to come back in early 2018 for a family emergency, quit my job to complete my duties and right before I could get back to work, the pandemic hit and I was pretty much stranded since it started till now.

I was involved in a few blockchain events since 2017 and it has kept me alive during the pandemic and it is when I started getting immersed in it. I started to blog because of many reasons, but the primary one is because i feel that blockchain and primarily AI is going to change the world in less than one decade. Looking at the way most of the governments and businesses in the region operates - which is in a highly plutocratic pseudo democratic way. I strongly believe that the adoption of AI is already in place and is going to be widely implemented. When that happens, many people is going to loose their jobs and most of us will soon be replaced. The crux is, no one in the region is talking about regulation or policies governing AI.

My mission is to get regular Joe's and Jane's on board the chain and together with compounding knowledge, my hopes is that we would be able to come up with a new stream of income and or a a solution for all of us in the future. Aside from that I would be sharing some technical analysis for those who are into it.

Thank you. Hope you enjoyed the short story :) Please feel free to reach out to me at any given time. God bless and God Speed!

Angkor Courtyard.jpg
Courtyard in Angkor Wat

Angkor.jpg
Angkor Wat

Taking a piss.jpg
My Maldivian friend taking a piss near Angkor Wat

Dinner vietnam boat.jpg
Dinner on a boat in Saigon with Team Mates

Research Lab.jpg
Research Lab

Plantation Visit.jpg
Delegation in a Rubber Plantation

Glove Factory.jpg
Glove Factory

Spiders.jpg
Local Cambodian Delicacy - Spiders

Cambodian Traditional Dress.jpg
Cambodian Traditional Dress

Cambodia Street Food.jpg
Cambodian Street Food

Cycling.jpg
Cambodian Street Food

Ferry.jpg
Selling snacks on Cambodian Ferry - Millions take this ferry to work everyday.

Laos.jpg
Laos with Team Mates

District 1 HCMC.jpg
District 1 HCMC a.k.a Saigon

TO BE CONTINUED...

Special thanks to @lovesniper @indayclara for sharing all the newbie tips with me :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
43 Comments
Ecency