This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Return to my first fishing spot and a very special catch

Years ago now probably 20 or so my father took me down the road to a small creek that runs through the Erie National Wildlife Refuge it was a great micro fishing spot, good for a cane pole and a kid learning to sight fish. Though my dad never understood my fascination with the little yellow bullheads that always found my bait, it was always a prime spot for me to grab a few fast for mink bait. I remember riding my bike the mile or so to the spot and spending all day standing and catching tons of different fish, yellow perch, bluegill, largemouth bass, redhorse sucker, black crappie, chain pikerel, carp, yellow bullhead, and I'm honestly probably forgetting a species or 2. Today was much like other days I fished the creek though, yet very very different. This is a spot I dont usually bring alot of friends to as its small, and it never holds massive fish (except maybe a bluegill or two that get 9 inches or so) but its a neat location because as small as it is you need all kinds of tackle to fish it. Today I had about a half hour to fish with my girlfriend, she had never caught a pikerel before and I wanted to see her catch one. I tied up a small crappie tube for her and I tied up a 3 inch green and white spoon on my line and made a cast, about 5 minutes in I feel a thump, then the line just went crazy though my drag wasnt peeling out like a pikerel, I kept reeling and saw a flash... trout? Must be a rainbow or a brown, as I reeled the fish in I wet my hand and picked it up, it wasnt a brown or a rainbow, it was in fact a brook trout! (Our state fish) In a county that doesnt get stocked with our state fish! These little guys are however wild in my area though this fish is not one I expected to catch there. Ive never even saw a trout in that stream. It was extremely unexpected and it made for an exciting trip out.