🌟 My Favourite Things 🌟 Vol II 🌟 A Neoclassical Chandelier 🌟

cover.jpg

HAAAI, Steemians! Remember, precisely 29 days ago, when I launched my new series called "My Favourite Things"? Of course you don't, I only did the one post. That's not much of a series, is it?!

I got carried away with end of year at my shop, Christmas and New Years came and went, and today, a light bulb 🌟 went off, and I realised that I hadn't completed my series. I love vintage and antiques, and I love to educate others on the history and design elements that go with antiques.

SOLD 1200 x 1000 - R57000 INCL VAT (3).JPG

My antique that I am sharing with you today is a light that my team designed and custom built in our workshop. You can see my colleague, Rozani, hanging the chandelier when it was first completed. It is inspired by a very classic style of chandelier, the neoclassical. There are many variations on these lights, but a few distinctive features are the following:

  • the slender neck
  • the crystal basket at the bottom
  • the use of elaborate metal castings for a decorative element

SOLD 1200 x 1000 - R57000 INCL VAT (7).JPG

We used antique brass castings to form the pretty decorative bands at the top and centre of the lights. These castings come in long, straight lengths, and our brilliant coppersmith bends them into the round shape with his flame. He also made the arms from hollow brass round bar. Amazing work, right?

SOLD 1200 x 1000 - R57000 INCL VAT (10).JPG

The crystal used is Asfour crystal, which is the same level as Swarovski crystal. It took Rozani about two weeks to string all the crystal onto this frame, after our coppersmith had made it. It took the coppersmith about a week to make the frame of the light, and a few other team members had to electrify the light, which also took time. So this light was probably a month in it's making

SOLD 1200 x 1000 - R57000INCL VAT.JPG

It's quite a large light, 1400mm (about 4ft) h x 600mm (about 2ft) in diameter, and would do very well in a double volume space, like an entrance hall or dining hall

So, Steemians, that was #myfavouritethings post. Hope you learnt something, and loved the pics.

Can't wait to hear your thoughts

mewmewfooter.jpg!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now