Time to chill (decluttering my modular!)

Decluttering Day! 😎

Planning a big re-arrangement to get one of my 4 cases into a state where I can take it out and play it on location/for gigs. Here's things as they stand all unpatched and mounted on the wall:

Modular Unpatched.jpg

But to get to that point, I first had to undertake the very therapeutic process of de-patching! In other words, pulling out all the cables and hanging them up on my cable hanger! The process took 12 minutes - perfect length for a meditation...

Ahh I'll take that over a massage!

I do change the patch quite a bit each week anyway but I haven’t completely gone back to scratch for a while now. Going to be interesting setting up the next one.

I am also thinking I could use the audio from the video of me pulling out all those cables to form the basis for some ambience in a future Lofi track! What do you reckon?!

Next step is to select the modules I want in my single case rig for gigs and streaming on location and racking them up. I'm currently playing around on Modular Grid trying to optimise the setup - it's a fine balance with a smaller case to get enough functionality that works well together to make a complete set with enough possibilities to create varied music for an hour or two...

My main problem currently seems to be the filters - I have 3 small filters included in this rack but those are all filters with a lot of character (read: too easy to accidentally make them scream - I'm looking at you Steve's Ms-22!). Character can be good, but not necessarily what you want on every voice! I have gentler filters, but they are too big to fit in this patch... hmmm..

Anyway here's my work in progress plan for the portable rack so far:

TDC Tunes Portable Rack WIP.png

This will give me 4 drum voices, 4 speech samples and 3 tuned voices - plus options to blend in/alter the sounds pretty comprehensively.

I'll be fine tuning the patch and building it in the next few days. If you're a modular enthusiast you can follow my latest Modular Grid plan here: https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/1339371

Right back to filter selection (or do I mean shopping for more modules?!)...

Have a great day Hive!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency