Cold Winter: An original Magic Winter Musical Poem and Video inspired by Snow Maidens folklore and the beauty of the most ethereal season

COLDWINTERCOVERSQUARE.JPG
Watch the music video clicking here:

cold witner logo ice.png
You know I simmer my posts slowly though I am trying to keep up and releasing videos more often :) so here it is... a Frozen, Chilly, Winter Poem, also featuring Hirvi my "deer friend". So hope you enjoy this relaxing walk in the forest through a snow covered forest singing an original musical poem about the ethereal yet harsh beauty of Winter and Snow. Still cold is needed to bring seeds back to life. Grab your coats, this one will chill you :) 🥶

Priscilla Hernandez Cold Winter (3).gif

One last breath of the cold Winter with this musical poem full of folklore and the ethereal window of Winter Snow. Remember the harsh Winter (Northern Hemisphere) is the season who brings back the light and brighter days are waiting ahead. Yesterday while I hike I saw the first daffodil blooming. But to regrow seeds need cold to activate. All has meaning and sense in Nature, let's never forget that.

Summoning the Cold

Something strange happened when I composed this poem... I will not call it exactly a song but a poem. I was thinking about my song "Grow" which belongs to a long planned project called "As Seasons Flow" and thinking I will eventually compile all the seasonal songs into an album. Then I thought that somehow I had made songs inspired by Winter but not about Winter itself, and I was thinking about the fact that though all is still, bare and quiet seeds do need cold to activate and regrow. So I was almost "haunted" by these words... thinking about the ethereal yet harsh beauty of the season
Priscilla Hernandez Cold Winter (4).gif

So after I wrote the words we had "Filomena" Storm in Spain! and you probably heard in the news that all my country was buried in snow due to a cold wave.
Thus I was able to film this video.
But last week when working again on it, it turned super chilly and I thought, ok! this is coincidence, but it feels like an Incantation XD
Thus it feels even more magical for me now

The Snow Maidens in Folklore

The video is also inspired by all the Snow Maidens in folklore like the Winter Norse Goddess Skadi, Ghost Japanese Yuki-Onna, The Snow Queen (Danish Tale), Snegurochka (Russian Tale) and other slavic snow deities.
As a child I was impressed by tales like Japanese Yuki-Onna and The Snow Queen by Danish author Christian Andersen, and though both legends portray a cold hearted dangerous beauty I wanted to portray it in a more benevolent manner, because though Winter is often found harsh and cold, it also activates the seeds so they an regrow. Song full of mystery and hopefully will haunt you like the howling wind of a blizzard :)
In Russia the Snow Maiden is know as “Snegurochka” or “Sneg" (the world for snow), mostly known for a XIX century fairy tale inspired in old traditional slavic Goddesses, and often depicted with fair hair and blue eyes. She is the daughter of Father Frost and Mother Spring. She
sometimes appears as a blessing to childless couples as a daughter during Winter, but she would melt if falling in love so it's safer for her to roam alone.

Priscilla Hernandez Cold Winter (1).gif

Cold Winter ( Lyrics) A Winter Poem

Cold are the long nights in winter
Cold to the bone
now all is bare long time withered
'neath the dim gleam of a sun
that can't barely make a faint heartbeat
still in the ghost of the day
so down deep
life falls sleep
hidden and safe in its lair
And out in the roaring blizzard
a specter in white roams alone
Her frosty lips humming a song
words catching snow on her tongue
Her haunting wail feels like a shiver
her voice like a whispery moan
cold as the long nights in winter
cold, cold to the bone
Cold are the long nights in winter
cold, cold to the bone
Nothing but dead boughs and splinters
naked and covered in snow
And all is unstirring stillness
Nature is Wise and knows
So down deep
life falls sleep
waiting for warmth to regrow

With the guest appearance of Hirvi the Stag and Fufunchis the ratties

You may remember Hirvi, my prince in the woods... he appeared for the first time in Grow (for which this song is kind of a prequel) and because I befriended him he has made cameos in many of my videos.
Priscilla Hernandez Cold Winter (6).gif

And of course as it is tradition there are some hidden "fufunchis" ratties in the video. This is an easter eggs game that happens in every single one of my releases. I know some of you here are now experts. This time also it's special because it features the guest appearance "in memory of" Kitka who was the ratty of one of my dear friends, as she passed unexpected last week and is now a little ratty ghost at the Rainbow Bridge. Just because I do not want you to miss this one I'll give the still to you with the hope you an spot them in the higher resolution video too.
Priscilla Hernandez Cold Winter (7).gif

Music and lyrics by Priscilla Hernandez. All rights reserved. YIDNETH. 2021

Support

Please if you can leave feedback on the youtube channel I appreciate it, :)
Also thanks in advance to anyone feedbacking and posting an encouraging comment here.
If you want to support my music please consider to:
❤️Become my patron: https://patreon.com/yidneth
🎵 Download this song: https://priscillahernandez.bandcamp.com

Thanks always for the support!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency