Some Musical Flashbacks From My Student Years Spent In Aalborg, Denmark

For the last brief HIVE article this evening, I decided to share a few musical flashbacks from my last bachelor's degree year spent in Aalborg at Aalborg University in Denmark.

While I was there, beginning with the second study year, in order to fill my free time with loads of great passion, fun, and beautiful memories, I took the decision of gradually buying three guitars and many other guitar accessories (i.e. a metal capo, a slide bar, and even a violin bow).

Sometimes, I jammed with faculty buddies but most of the time I was composing music and rehearsing by myself (either digitally on my MacBook Pro or just alone physically with my three Harley Bentons).

In one of the student flats that I was living during my last year there, I had a flatmate who was also a guitarist and he sometimes played the Spanish guitar (in a very mellow way, as opposed to the Jimmy Page/Dave Mustaine riffs I played out loud sometimes).

However, back in 2018, when I took guitar lessons very seriously, I often woke up tremendously cheerful at the mesmerising scenery of a large balcony which had my beloved Harley Benton (henceforth affectionately nicknamed 'Havona') supported on its front door. Next thing I would often do on an empty stomach would be to play Doors riffs, in loving memory of one of my all time greatest heroes, more specifically Robby Krieger. So it was that I played 'Wild Child', 'Hyacinth House', 'Love Her Madly', 'Roadhouse Blues', 'The Spy', or 'Break On Through (To The Other Side)'.

This being said, without further ado, I will sum up the whole story for now in the following images. Enjoy!

Doors 1.jpg
My acoustic Harley Benton (affectionately nicknamed 'Havona' after a Weather Report song and a Jaco Pastorius connection) along with the L.A. Woman poster next to my bed. I think I woke up for at least six months or so next to this beautiful setting.

Harley Benton electric.jpg
The Fender Strat-like electric Harley Benton which I did crazy things such as playing bowed guitar with an Artino violin bow or re-made some of America's acoustic rock songs in an electric live version.

Artino violin bow.jpg
My very first violin bow, an Artino model, with which I tried to 'impersonate' Jimmy Page in my student dorm room by playing the intro chords from 'Kashmir' on the electric Harley Benton.

Spanish guitar.jpg
The Spanish guitar which formerly belonged to one of my Catalan flatmates

Beatles revolver.jpg
And, last but not least, a beautiful memory which I dearly wanted to photograph, namely The Beatles' 'Revolver' in vinyl format on sale at a local Danish souvenir shop in Aalborg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency