Getting to know me

Do you judge people by what they read and the music they listen to? There's an app for that, or two.

I like to log what I've been doing. I realise I'm exposing myself on-line (no, not like that), but I like the stats.

I'm currently using Goodreads to record what books I've read and plan to read. I tried a few others in the past and even did a list on my own site, but Goodreads has a lot of people using it and includes some friends.

One of the sites I've used the longest is last.fm (previously Audioscrobbler). It's been logging what music I listen to for 13 years! They have apps and extensions for all sorts of apps and services to do this. I'm approaching 85,000 listens over that time. That's a lot of data to play with and the site does some cool charts with it. If I want to play with data science then I've got that to use.

I've played around with various services for years, but others are seriously into lifelogging. I'm not sure what they will do with all this data, but we know companies are trying to mine it for their own purposes. I've seen a quote somewhere saying that with enough datapoints about your Facebook activity they can know you better than you know yourself! I can believe that as we don't always think deeply before taking actions. We act instinctively, but something must be driving those choices.

Welcome to the future!

Please support my Open Mic entry.

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

Mine cryptocurrency in the cloud at Eobot, including Steem. You can earn as you chat using WowApp. If you use these links I get a small reward. You can recruit others to do the same.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now