I believe in love

image.png

I don't often talk about working on set of films and music videos but it is a huge passion of mine. Some people like to go to the beach, some like to play video games. Me, I love being a part of a creation. This song by Jamaican artiste Alex and Busy Signal called "I Believe in love" was an absolute joy to work on.

The role I played in this production was that of Assistant Director. I like this role a lot because it is sort of a gatekeeper role. You are the director's bodyguard basically both physically and conceptually, meaning you have to ensure the director isn't being bothered or distracted too much by persons on set wanting to talk to him all the time and you have to make sure his vision works. Whatever is in the way of him getting what he wants you have to tackle it like a linebacker. The only obstacle that I could not overcome was his phone. It's as if the phone were the 1st AD and I was the 2nd. If I could have thrown it in the sea I would have thrown it in the sea but then I wouldn't have a job.

image.png

Either way the director and cinematographer, a very talented young lad named Wentworth " Axis" Kelly, one of the founders of Ikon Media (and hopefully still my friend after he reads that bit about the phone) did a pretty good job with this music video. The entire team actually, from casting to location, wardrobe, shots angles, colour grading, you name it. P.S. this was shot on location in Kingston and Portmore in St. Catherine. The Hellshire side. Yeh Boooyyy!

So what's it about? Well this Dancehall Reggae mix infused with Trinidadian steel pans and a sprinkle of Soca vibe is like the title says about believing in love whether as a married couple, children playing and grandparents caring. Love is the answer to fix all problems. If you believe in it at least.

I don't want to give away too much because you can just listen to it, it's right there at the end of the article. Hey, wait where you going. Finish the article first. Anyway, this song tackles rekindling love as a married couple on the rocks as well as appreciating the love around us in humanity. If you don't believe in love, the beat alone is something to rock to.

Now, before you rock to the music video, ask yourself, is love in your relationships? Whether with family, friends or your intimate partner. What will it take to believe?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency