“Gentle on My Mind” covered by Billy Bragg & Joe Henry … (Country / Folk – Music to Your Ears, Covers–63)


The gentle strumming and the heartfelt vocals say what the lyrics are meant to say.

“Gentle on My Mind” (2016 – original from 1967)

Billy Bragg & Joe Henry – “Gentle on My Mind”

Written in 1967 by John Hartford, the classic “Gentle On My Mind”  was first covered by Glen Campbell, later that year. Since then, it has been covered by more than 300 artists.

Tender Love

Unlike most overly emotive love songs, this song celebrates a calm, peaceful love. Even though the two lovers are separated, they remain connected by their warm memories and deep understanding of each other.     

As the season turns gray and cold, the protagonist simply “draw(s) inside (him)self in silence”  and smiles, remembering that they share a quiet, gentle love.  

Gentle on Your Ears

This calm, restrained interpretation by these 2 great musicians is among the finest versions we’ll ever hear. The unadorned setting, the sepia tint, the gentle strumming of the guitar, and the heartfelt vocals say just what the lyrics are meant to say.    

In 1968, “Gentle On My Mind”  won 4 Grammy Awards, under the banners of both folk music and country and western. That year, 3 other covers of the song reached the top 10 of the US easy listening charts.    

In 1990, it was ranked the 4th-most-played song of all time in the US, according to Broadcast Music, Inc.   (Image source)

Billy Bragg

Billy Bragg is a UK musician and social activist. His lyrics reflect the honest themes of folk, protest, and punk music.   

Poetry and Politics

As a youth, Bragg started writing poetry and playing music. His original influences included Simon & Garfunkel, The Rolling Stones, and Bob Dylan. After seeing The Clash live twice, in 1977 and 1978, his work started to express political and social overtones.

Over the years and decades, Bragg has remained a vocal supporter of grassroots political movements.    (Image source)

Joe Henry

Joe Henry is a US singer, songwriter, guitarist, and producer. 

Moving Onwards

He started out as a country / folk singer of sorts. With his 3rd album, in 1990, he moved towards a sound that can be called “alt country.”

Apart from recording 13 studio albums, Henry has also produced numerous albums for other artists – including 3 that have won Grammy awards.   

Leading Others Onwards

In the 2000s, Henry became one of the original members on the judging panel of the Independent Music Awards, which supports and promotes independent musicians.    (Image source)

It's knowing you don't try to bind my freedom with some promise made of gold
That for you my door stays open, and our love becomes a simple 2-way street
And it's knowing we're not shackled by forgotten words and bonds
And the ink stains that have dried upon some line
That keeps you on the back roads by the rivers of my mem'ry
That keeps you ever gentle on my mind

It's not clinging to the rocks and ivy planted on some column now that binds us
Or something that somebody said because they thought we fit together walking
It's just knowing that the world will not be cursing or forgiving
When I'm driftin' through the market place and find
That you're moving on the back roads by the rivers of my mem'ry
And for hours you're just gentle on my mind

Though the wheat fields and the clothes lines
And the junk yards and the highways come between us
And some other woman crying to her mother 'cause she turned and you were gone
I still might walk for hours, tears of joy might stain my face
And a summer sun might burn me till I'm blind
But not to where I cannot see you moving on the back roads
By the rivers flowing gentle on my mind

The shutters creak and autumn winds that make me draw inside myself in silence
Cross-legged now I sit and watch the endless chase of leaves across my yard
And layin' down my hair brush, I lean back within my window seat and find
That you're moving on the back roads by the rivers of my mem'ry
Ever smiling, ever gentle on my mind.

        Tammy Wynette – “Gentle on My Mind”    
          (Right-click title to hear on YouTube)

note – This version by Wynette is not the original. But it is a somewhat better version than both the original and the version by Glen Campbell.

Lyrics by John Hartford, courtesy of – AZLyrics.com
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Wikipedia

Into your ears … through 5 channels

 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels (Right-Click to see details)
         1 – “Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
         2 – “Cover Versions”
         3 – “Honor Roll”
         4 – “Documentaries”
         5 – “Mock’n’Roll”

More “Cover Versions” ...

         Cover Versions – Music to Your Ears "Posts 1~20"  
         Cover Versions – Music to Your Ears "Posts 21~40"  

Links to my other series ...

          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"

          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  
          Vocab-Ability – "Index"  to all Chapters and Sections

          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part Two – Notes 51~87"

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency