'Labpad' - New Original Music - Revisiting Some Older LABS Sounds - Electronic/Instrumental + Walkthrough

Screen Shot 2021-07-29 at 9.40.50 PM.png

Out of all the various free plug-ins

Tracks 2 and 3, More Pads
I've downloaded over the years, Spitfire Audio's LABS is without a doubt my most used. Every month they release a new instrument pack, and now have over 30 I believe. I try and use the new ones whenever possible, just to explore them and know what's there, as there are a lot of sounds and possibilities. However, some of the older ones I tend to skip over, not because they don't sound good, but just because I played with them a lot in the past. So last night I went back the 'Synth Pads', and made a tune using only sounds from that set of 9 instruments. Track 1 plays the chords below, with the A section (in Green/Teal) starting on a Bm11 to G6, then an F#min7, played 2x. The B section is a bit weirder, with that first chord made of two minor 2nds to a G, then an A to a G, before returning to the top. I think I overdid the automation of the dynamics, as it gets a little intense, so if I decide to make this a full song, I'll need to change that. Track 2 is sort of a bass line, though its pretty 'pad'-ish too, and plays mostly roots, with some variation in the B part.


Screen Shot 2021-07-29 at 9.41.10 PM.png

Track 1, Parts A (Green) and B (Blue)


Listen to Labpad here...


Track 3 is only used over the B sections, and once again

Tracks 4 and 5, Even More LABS Pads
uses a pad, though I don't love the timbre of this one. I would probably wind up changing it out with something else if this becomes a more complete idea. Track 4 is only over the A sections and the break, and originally was going to be another bass part, but wound up being played two octaves higher, mostly cause I couldn't hear it on my laptop speakers and forgot to drop it back down, haha. Track 5 was supposed to be a plucky little sound, but I couldn't really achieve that without using other LABS sounds, so I just rolled with it and picked one, haha. Finally, we have Track 6 which provides the distorted, sort of electric sounding drones, which just plays single root notes of each of changes.

Hope you enjoy!



Check out my Instagram Music Page!

Click here to listen to all of my Splinterlands inspired songs!


HIVE SIGNATURE VERSION 3 copy.png


⚔️ JOIN THE OFFICIAL SPLINTERLANDS TELEGRAM ⚔️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency