'Inter' - New Original Music - A Spacey 5 Minute Timed Challenge from Last Week - Electronic/Instrumental + Walkthrough


Screen Shot 2021-05-16 at 9.31.44 PM.png

I had done a few timed challenges

Track 4, PianoBook Vocals
last week, but some were pretty weak, so I didn't wind up sharing them. This one kind of got lost in the shuffle. I managed to get 4 instruments, and not ALL ROLI or LABS synths, haha. I am not sure if I love the arrangement necessarily, but I do like the weird chord progression, and will definitely try and build more around that if I keep working on this. I started with Track 2 (was Track 1 at the time, lol), which uses the 'Oseny' preset from LABS' Textural Pads pack. The progression is 16 bars long, with each chord change happening over 2 bars. Pictured below: || Emin, Ebsus2, G, A | F#min, Fsus2, A, B ||. The second 8 bars is just the same as the first, but shifted up two whole steps. Since it ends on a Bmajor, that can act like our V, and take us right back to Emin at the top. Track 3 was recorded from the 'Brassy Fields' LABS preset, and frankly is a track I dislike. I added a weird little chromatic thing in it, and the attack of the note changes is weird and note on beat, so at times it rushes, and other times comes in late.


Screen Shot 2021-05-16 at 9.32.47 PM.png

Track 2, the 'Oseny' LABS Textural Pad


Listen to Inter here...


Track 4 uses the free plug-in 'Decentsampler' to run one

Track 5, Another free synth, 'Pendulate'
of the many free instruments available on Pianobook, specifically the 'Frozen Voices' pack. This plays two notes at a time, with a bassline and a sort of ascending higher register. Because of Track 3, there are some spots that are more dissonant than I intended, so I think once that is removed, these vocal pads will definitely sound a lot cooler. Finally, we have Track 5, which uses one of the free synths I downloaded last month, 'Pendulate'. The UI is pictured to the right of this paragraph; while it starts off as a really simple sound, when you begin to play around with the Chaos Amount and Animate features, you can start to get some CRAZY stuff. I'll try and use it in another tune, maybe with something more intense and wild, so you can see what this synth sounds like. Here, it's more of a super spacey, reverby sound, which just plays single notes, 1 per chord change. I was basically out of time, so I didn't have time to really play with this and add anything else.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency