Grapthar's Daily Hive Music Feature: Weezer - 'Holiday'


weezer-1994-u-billboard-1548-compressed.jpg

Weezer - Holiday

Weezer is an interesting band for me,

Weezer performing live in the early days (Image Source)
as I consider a couple of their albums to be some of the greatest ever written/released, though they also have a WHOLE other discography that I, for the most part, entirely ignore, as it just doesn't appeal to me. In the '90s, I was a little young to really get into them, but after I first heard them in the late '00s, I was hooked, and had their first two albums on repeat for YEARS, and still revisit them all the time. The band was first formed in 1992 in LA by singer/guitarist Rivers Cuomo, who has always been the central writer in the group, and since 2001 has consisted of Patrick Wilson (drums, percussion, backing vocals), Brian Bell (guitar, backing vocals, keyboards), and Scott Shriner (bass, backing vocals, keyboards) (Source - Wikipedia: Weezer). Their first two albums are generally considered classics of the period, and they definitely have some great tunes scattered across other albums, but as the band progressed, Cuomo wanted to incorporate more elements of pop music, in an attempt to reach a wider audience. This may have worked initially, though their newer music still tries to do this, and just feels a bit strange to me; it doesn't feel particularly cutting edge, and sort of takes the most 'basic' elements of modern pop and incorporates them into Cuomo's style. Some people get pretty upset about of all this, but for me, it's just not that interesting, and I'm happy to have their self-titled and Pinkerton to get by on, as they're just so good. Today's song is the second to last on that debut self-titled, which the band released in 1994, and has always been a go-to roadtrip/vacation song for me, so of course I listened to it on the road when I left Sunday night and returned home today.

Listen to Holiday by Weezer here...


71nYpz++VCL._SL1400_.jpg

Weezer, Self-Titled (The Blue Album (1994, DGC Records)

Enjoy today's song! Thanks for checking out my blog! Long live the Hive!


Cover Image Source


Check out my Instagram Music Page!

Click here to listen to all of my Splinterlands inspired songs!


HIVE SIGNATURE VERSION 3 copy.png


⚔️ JOIN US ON TELEGRAM ⚔️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency