Grapthar's Daily Hive Music Feature: The Replacements - 'Unsatisfied'

The.Replacements.jpg

The Replacements - Unsatisfied

The Replacements are a band whose name

The Replacements live on SL (Image Source)
I had heard ALL the time throughout high school, from people who liked much of the same music I did, but for some reason, I had sort of just missed out on the band for a long time. I often saw them referenced as an influence of other groups I loved, but just never downloaded or purchased any of their songs until well into my '20s, at which point I realized I had been totally missing out. The band was formed in 1979 in Minneapolis, MN, and for most of its existence, was made up of Paul Westerberg (guitar, vocals), Bob Stinson (guitar), Tommy Stinson (bass), and Chris Mars (drums). Although they started out as a punk band, they always had a wider variety of influences they would incorporate into their music, much to the chagrin of the hardcore kids who would atten the shows they played. That sort of became a running theme with the band, always trying to piss off the audience, the recording industry overall, and even their own fans at times. Their shows were known for being wild, raucous, drunken celebrations of rock and roll, which I'm sure was fun, but isn't sustainable for a band to exist long term, and, of course, they wound up splitting in 1991. Today's song is from the band's 1984 album Let It Be, which was the band's first big departure from punk rock, and showed them willing to try using new sounds and styles to create more interesting music.

Listen to Unsatisfied by The Replacements here...


replacements.png

The Replacements, Let It Be (1984, Twin/Tone Records)

Enjoy today's song! Thanks for checking out my blog! Long live the Hive!


Cover Image Source


Check out my Instagram Music Page!

Click here to listen to all of my Splinterlands inspired songs!


HIVE SIGNATURE VERSION 3 copy.png


⚔️ JOIN US ON TELEGRAM ⚔️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency