Grapthar's Daily Hive Music Feature: Talking Heads - 'A Clean Break (Live)'

Screen Shot 2021-09-09 at 10.10.08 PM.png

Talking Heads - A Clean Break (Live)

Unlike most of my favorite bands, I can

David Byrne in his classic big suit (Image Source)
remember the very first time I ever heard a Talking Heads song, and the moment I became a fan. I had a music class in 7th grade and our teacher had us pick songs from a list, and write a paper on the song and band. I had 'Stairway to Heaven', but my friend Ty had the Talking Heads tune 'Psycho Killer'. When he claim into class and played the song before reading his biography, I was hooked. The Christmas after, my mom got me the Once in a Lifetime CD box set, which has a bunch of incredible songs spanning the band's whole career, plus live songs, B-sides, and demos. Talking Heads were first formed in 1975 in New York City by art school friends David Byrne (vocals, guitar), Tina Weymouth (bass), and Chris Frantz (drums). They then recruited Jerry Harrison (previously of Modern Lovers) on guitar, rounding out the quartet's line-up, which would remain together until their break up. Over the band's existence, they really helped to push popular and rock music into new places, and created a unique sound that really couldn't be copied, thought other bands did try. Today's song is a live track, which originally was only available on their 1981 live album The Name of This Band Is Talking Heads, though I first heard the remastered version on that compilation CD boxset I had mentioned before. I've always wished they had recorded this in a studio, but the live version is great, and its got SUCH an awesome chorus, so I can't be too picky.

Listen to A Clean Break (Live) by Talking Heads here...


81Fmw92aexL._SL1425_.jpg

Talking Heads, The Name Of This Band Is Talking Heads (1981, Sire Records)

Enjoy today's song! Thanks for checking out my blog! Long live the Hive!



Check out my Instagram Music Page!

Click here to listen to all of my Splinterlands inspired songs!


HIVE SIGNATURE VERSION 3 copy.png


⚔️ JOIN US ON TELEGRAM ⚔️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency