Grapthar's Daily Hive Music Feature: Hot Water Music - 'Frieghtliner'


https___cdn.evbuc.com_images_136575943_306868915355_1_original.jpg

Hot Water Music - Freightliner

Hot Water Music have been a band

HWM live in '97 (Image Source)
that I've loved since probably age 12 or 13; like many bands of that time, I saw their band name on a forum related to other groups I was into (specifically Thrice), so I went and Napster'ed some of their songs, and got hooked. I've seen them live A LOT, opening for other bands, as headliners, at festivals, and even got a tattoo of their logo at 19, so it's safe to say they're a favorite. The band was first formed in 1993 in Gainesville, FL by Chuck Ragan (vocals, guitar), Chris Wollard (vocals, guitar), Jason Black (bass) and George Rebelo (drums), who have remained with the group since it's inception. The band is often cited as an emo/post-hardcore band, but they've always been pretty punky, though their original sound has been there since the beginning. They are known for their really interesting, often very heavy, two guitar parts, and Ragan and Wollard both handle lead vocal duties, with their two different vocal timbres really working together to create a great sound. Although I haven't really loved much of their newer music, I don't really mind, as the stuff I grew up on still is available, and still sounds great to me. This song was potentially the first I heard from them, though I don't know that for sure, and comes from the band's debut full length Fuel for the Hate Game, released in 1997. This sound, the heavy guitars, melodic/sing-along vocals, and AWESOME groovy bass/drum parts, are sort of the quintessential Hot Water Music, at least for me.

Listen to Freightliner by Hot Water Music here...


81mTpuQvthL._SS500_.jpg

Hot Water Music, Fuel for the Hate Game (1997, Toybox/No Idea Records)

Enjoy today's song! Thanks for checking out my blog! Long live the Hive!


Cover Image Source


Check out my Instagram Music Page!

Click here to listen to all of my Splinterlands inspired songs!


HIVE SIGNATURE VERSION 3 copy.png


⚔️ JOIN US ON TELEGRAM ⚔️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency