Grapthar's Daily Hive Music Feature: Helms Alee - 'Pleasure Center'

Helms-Alee-2019.jpg

Helms Alee - Pleasure Center

I discovered Helms Alee while perusing

Helms Alee performing live (Image Source)
the list of bands signed to Sargent House Records, home to some of my favorites like Tera Melos, Russian Circles and Mylets. I listened to all their music that was available at the time, and was definitely hooked. The band was formed 2007 in Seattle, WA by Ben Verellen (guitar, vocals), Dana James (bass), and Hozoji Matheson-Margulli (drums, vocals), and is somewhere between a post-rock and a sludge-metal band. I've always described them as 'Nautical Mastodon', haha. I love their sound, it ranges from really delicate and beautiful ambient textures to SUPER heavy, chuggy goodness. Both Verellen and Margulli provide vocals, and the back and forth between male and female vocals adds another really unique layer to this band. Today's song is the opening track on their 2014 album Sleepwalking Sailors, and was my first introduction to the band, so it seemed like a good choice for anyone who has never before heard the group.

Listen to Pleasure Center by Helms Alee here...


a4074552623_10.jpg

Helms Alee, Sleepwalking Sailors (2014, Sargent House Records)

Enjoy today's song! Thanks for checking out my blog! Long live the Hive!


Cover Image Source


Check out my Instagram Music Page!

Click here to listen to all of my Splinterlands inspired songs!


HIVE SIGNATURE VERSION 3 copy.png


⚔️ JOIN US ON TELEGRAM ⚔️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency