Grapthar's Daily Hive Music Feature: Frodus - 'The Earth Isn't Humming'

2796938749_c23677eebc_b.jpg

Frodus - The Earth Isn't Humming

I realized today while scrolling through

Frodus performing live (Image Source)
old playlists that I hadn't listened to Frodus in quite a long time, so I made sure to rectify that! I first found Frodus through a cover (of this song actually) by Thrice; I loved the song, and after finding out it was a cover, went back to the original and the rest of Frodus' discography. Frodus were originally formed in 1993 in Washington, D.C. by Shelby Cinca (vocals, guitar) and Jason Hamacher (drums); the list of bassists the group went through over the next 6 years is MASSIVE, so I'm not going to list them all here. Although the group split in 1999, the sound they created definitely helped push the post-hardcore genre in new directions, and inspired many other groups that followed in their footsteps. After their split, it took the band two years to find a label to release their final album, And We Washed Our Weapons in the Sea, which is where today's tune comes from. Eventually, Fueled by Ramen released the album, which has been critically acclaimed and oft declared to be their best overall creation. I love the groovy, heavy bass and drums on this track, and the strange, sometimes dissonant guitar over the top, which is sort of Frodus' signature sound.

Listen to The Earth Isn't Humming by Frodus here...


ab67616d0000b2734c69b82a4679951a6fc9d755.jpg

Frodus, And We Washed Our Weapons in the Sea (2001, Fueled by Ramen)

Enjoy today's song! Thanks for checking out my blog! Long live the Hive!


Cover Image Source


Check out my Instagram Music Page!

Subscribe to my YouTube here!


HIVE SIGNATURE VERSION 3 copy.png


⚔️ JOIN US ON TELEGRAM ⚔️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency