'Gotwo' - New Original Music - A Silly, Kinda Sloppy 7 Minute Timed Challenge - Electronic/Instrumental + Walkthrough

Screen Shot 2021-06-09 at 9.33.48 PM.png

I decided to do a timed challenge

Track 10, Plucky ROLI Synth
last night, and gave myself 7 minutes, as 5 is just so short. I wound up with quite a lot of tracks, although 3 of them are the same drum pattern, just recorded with different effects, and most of them are audio tracks, so I won't have enough screenshots to make the post seem a bit longer, hehe. I dropped a beat into Ableton's Simpler, and chopped it up, which creates the basic pattern in Track 5. In Tracks 6 and 9, there are different versions of this with Portal presets on them, which give us that weird intro and break. I added a goofy bass line in Track 7, and some cymbals and kicks in Track 8 using the Steven Slate Drums demo. Track 10 was a plucky ROLI synth, and finally, we have Track 2, another ROLI synth, this one with a wobbly LFO. I recorded this to an audio track, Track 3, and bumped it up an octave.

Overall, this is a weird, sloppy,

strange thing, BUT, I really the spastic drums in Track 9, and I think if I get rid of ALL the synths, and just work on the pattern of the drums, it could be pretty cool. It has a sort of drum and bass feeling, from the original amen sample in the Simpler, but because it was played with the sample slices, it wound up being a lot weirder, which I'm definitely partial towards. I'll see what happens tonight, maybe have a lot more interesting idea to share tomorrow!


Screen Shot 2021-06-09 at 9.34.01 PM.png


Listen to Gotwo here...


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency