'Dhark' - New Original Music - Another Random, 10 Minute Timed Creation - Electronic/Instrumental + Walkthrough


Screen Shot 2021-03-14 at 9.34.54 PM.png

I was bored last night, and didn't really

Track 6, Equator Strings ('Ocean's Lament')
have a goal or idea to try, so I set another timer (for 10 minutes), and figured I'd just try things, and see what happens. I actually started with Tracks 3, 4, and 5, which are little audio clips that provide the weird noises and swells you can hear underneath the entire the track. I wasn't sure if these would work, but I figured I'd just put things in and hope the best; worst case, I wind up with a couple of useful ideas I can cut out and use somewhere else in the future. Track 1 was next, which uses an Equator instrument, the 'Galactic Piano', which is a really full, reverby acoustic piano, which plays the line below. I figured I'd go for something kind of strange and dissonant, since the basis of the track thus far was just weird glitchy noises.


Screen Shot 2021-03-14 at 9.37.52 PM.png

Track 1, Equator 'Galactic Piano'


Listen to Dhark here...


Track 6 is a string synth from Equator, which just play a

Track 8 Bitcrusher, Melda's MBitFun
two line under each of the two piano parts (pictured to the right of the first paragraph above. Track 7 is the 'That Feel' drum kit I've used before; however, I dropped the pitch of all 3 of the hi-hat sounds, and added some Native Instruments Raum reverb. This added another layer of noise, though more you can follow the rhythm of it more than the grouped audio clips. Track 8 was next, another drum kit, from which I used two sort of snare/clap sounds, also pitched down, with a bitcrusher added. I was hoping these would feel a little heavier, but they wound being kind of tinny and silly. But, when you're timed, you gotta just roll with the weirdness, lol. Finally, we have Track 9, which uses a drumkit from ROLI's library, and just adds a four on the floor kick pattern. Overall, not a super cohesive idea, though I do like the piano and strings, so maybe I'll take those, and ignore all the noisey stuff, try and build something starting with that.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency