'Crash2' - New Original Music - A Random Spitfire LABS Experiment - Electronic/Instrumental + Walkthrough

Screen Shot 2021-06-13 at 9.34.34 PM.png

I figured I'd take a little break from

Track 3, LABS Modular Piano: Piano Heaven
the idea I've shared over the last couple days, and come back to it with fresh ears tomorrow, and see what happens. In the meantime, I thought this would be a good choice. I was basically just playing around with random LABS instruments, and wound up with an interesting idea. It begins with a pretty basic progression in Dmin, although when it plays by itself at the beginning, the first 3 bars feel like they're in Bbmaj, which wasn't intentional, but I do enjoy audio illusions like that. The other tracks generally stick to diatonic stuff, but there are some very specific dissonances at certain points, and the long release of all the synths blends them together, to create a sound that wound up being a lot cooler than I had imagined when I first mapped out Track 2. Track 3 uses one of the Modular Piano sounds, and plays the part pictured to the right of this paragraph. As you can see, it almost entirely sticks to scale tones, except for that F#/A towards the end, which plays with an F and G in Track 2, so SUPER dissonant, but actually sort of works in a strange way. Track 4 is essentially just a riser, although it is a LABS instrument. It just provides a background element which also adds some dissonance, as it constantly just bends upwards, ignoring the chord progression around it.


Screen Shot 2021-06-13 at 9.34.47 PM.png

Track 2, LABS Textural Pads: Hireth


Listen to Crash2 here...


Track 5 uses an instrument from the LABS pack called

Track 6, LABS Tape Orchestra: Vox Humana Crinkle
'London Atmos', made up of sounds sampled around London, then tweaked to create pads and other atmospheric sounds. This just plays two little minor clusters, back and forth: D/E/F, and G/A/Bb. While they're all chord tones, those minor 2nds definitely add another layer of dissonance. Track 6 uses a vocal instrument from the 'Tape Orchestra' LABS pack, and plays the line pictured to the left. This too is mostly diatonic, but adds an Eb at some point, just another layer of tension. If all these parts played together, it would probably be too much, but I placed them sort of at random, staggering them throughout the song, which I think wound up making for an interesting listen. Tracks 7 and 8 both add synth pads, though Track 8 is the only non-LABS instrument, using a heavily effected ROLI Synth. Finally, we have Track 9, the LABS Lap Steel instrument. I haven't used this pack much, as it has such a specific sound, but here, with a ton of reverb and delay, I think it worked. I don't love the break in the song, where just Tracks 3, 6 and 9 play together; I'll definitely rearrange that, but otherwise I'm digging this idea.

Hope you dig it too!



Check out my Instagram Music Page!

Click here to listen to all of my Splinterlands inspired songs!


HIVE SIGNATURE VERSION 3 copy.png


⚔️ JOIN THE OFFICIAL SPLINTERLANDS TELEGRAM ⚔️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency