No more boogie ! RIP Maria Mendiola

Hi Hivers,

When artists like Micheal Jackson, Prince or David Bowie die the whole world knows. But those small artists that brightened up a period in your youth and pass away without much attention really shock me when I find out.

bac2.png

That occurred yesterday when I noticed a RIP message under the song of Spanish duo Baccara "Yes sir I can Boogie" from 1977.

Further reading revealed that singer Maria Mendiola had died at age 69 three days ago. (11 sept 2021)

bac.png

(in white Maria; in black Mayte Mateos)

But why did it shock me?

The above song was one of the first very sexy songs I must have heard apart from some (male) slow soul numbers a few years earlier.

Full in my puberty I heard Baccara and "that was it" Wow. I never knew their real names but that does not matter. I was able to undrstand the Enlish lyrics which were simple which is what counted.

Anyway , another artist passed away and I just wanted to give some attention to it. Forever on the blockchain.

later
Goldrooster

for those who wanna listen one more time

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency