Mega #mushroommonday

Yes. I used a hashtag and boy do I feel hip. I'm not sure #mushroommonday is a thing, but I recall seeing something like that. I suppose I could look at it myself, but I would rather work on this post instead. If there is a #mushroommonday we should change it to #fungifriday.... I've been known to be a fun guy.

Moving on!

It's a great time of year for mushrooms here in Northern Germany and I have been noticing them popping up all over and smelling them too!

I have taken it upon myself to try and learn a few species around the house and would like to share them with you today. I won't go into much detail, but here are a few and what I think they are.

0960A6F8-012A-49A4-9BF6-1153C6EF1528.jpeg

I found these cool little guys growing on a dead branch next my my driveway. They look like Jelly Babies and in fact i am certain that they are. I think it would be cool to grow something like this in a terrarium in the house, but I don't think @mrsbadger would approve.

52B13CDA-05A8-4CFD-A03A-AA38381A3463.jpeg

This amazing looking fungi is a Red Edged Brittlestem and you can see why they have the name. One tiny tap and they fall over but that's all it takes at they spread their spores for the next crop to grow.

E7D548D2-10BE-42E1-A964-18CA24B9768F.jpeg

These you will find growing all over Europe and probably in you back yard. This Nitrous Bonnet was growing in mine. I love the classic mushroom look on these bonnets.

E330A64A-6C3F-4DBB-A162-F3CD3D5DB017.jpeg

Here is a stinkhorn... He doesn't stink so bad anymore because he has entered into maturity and lost his black head and the majority of his awful smell. It is easily mistaken for the scent of a rotting dead animal and I can smell them from pretty far away, 50 meters or so. Yuck!

3362B777-CE00-437D-99E3-7931A879F79E.jpeg

Here are the only poisonous species I found and it's alarming that it they are growing right in my own backyard. I hope the kids and dog stay away! It it's called a common earthball. And you will see them all over the place. I never knew that they were poisonous until now!

Sadly, I didn't find any edibles but I will keep looking and let you know!

Recognize any of these fungi? Let me know!

Have a good work week!

@balticbadger

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency