Mexican Murals - When Big Red Lips Start Growing On You

Not all murals have the same effect on me. Some I instantly like. Others intrigue me into looking at them for long, trying to figure out their message. And then there are wall paintings like these: a bit of geometric lines with some color all around, and in the middle a pair of bright red lips.

When I first saw it, I did not like it one bit. In fact, I disliked it so much that I doubted I would ever put it into a post. I didn't even go back to looking at it again. But since the wall this picture is painted on happens to be right next to the bike shop where I'm building my bamboo bike - that is on the corner of Av. Jalisco and Gob. Luis G. Vieyra, I was forced to walk past it several times recently. As a result, each time it feels less unpleasant looking at those lips, and eventually I even took a picture of them. It's still not among my favorite images, nor do I think it ever will be, but at least I'm ready to share it.

Lots of Info About the Artist

This time there is ample information about the artist responsible for this enlarged female mouth on the wall. She is a Canadian muralist named is Michelle Hoogveld, who has worked on public spaces all over North America, as well as Germany, England, Portugal, and Peru. As her site informs us, she is trying to explore human emotion and its relationship to our surroundings in her work.

The other tags under this image refer to another collection of murals, and the StyleWalkMX, a guided walk where tourists can experience some of the most famous examples of street art in this city.

If you liked this, check out my developing series on Mexican murals:  

Please check out these great communities I'm contributing to: 


#ecotrain | What is EcoTrain | Discord Community


#tribesteemup |The 8 Pillars of @TribeSteemUp


#team-mexico | Discord Community

Join us on Discord

#cyclefeed | Introducing CycleFeed | Discord Community


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency