Wish Dragon - a fantastic Netflix animated movie!

If you have read a couple of my reviews here on Hive, then you probably know that half of them deal with animated movies and movies suitable for kids. Do you know why? Because I have kids, and they love to watch TV. And so do I. And in the midst of COVID, isolation, and all other stuff, it feels great to have what we call family cinema at home where we watch a great (hopefully) movie together.

tea pot.jpg

Wish Dragon has been around on Netflix for quite a while and it is a Netflix original movie. Recently, Netflix has actually created quite a lot of great content for kids, just like the movie We Can Be Heroes, and the animated movie The Mitchells vs The Machines. And so I noticed Wish Dragon, but we didn't get to see it. But, then something caught my attention. It kept showing up on the top 10 list of content in my countries on Netflix, week after week. There had to be a reason for this to happen. Maybe it was a great movie?

Wish Dragon - it reminds me of Aladdin

And that leads us to the actual movie. A delivery boy is having a messy life in which he tries to earn money, do good at school, and spend time with his very best friend, a girl! One day as he delivers food to a special address, he is given an object that is supposed to help him... it is actually quite similar to the magical lamp in Aladdin. And as he starts to look at it, a Wish Dragon shows up, ready to give him three of his desires.

wish dragon.jpg

The boy wants to get his friend back (who had to move), but he also has to protect himself from some thieves and evil people who want to get a hold of the magical tea pot.

In this interesting story, I just remember that my kids laughed a lot. They actually told me that it turned into one of their favorite movies, together with Raja, and some others. It is packed with cool animations, nice characters, and I think of this as a first-class production from Netflix. It could easily have been sent to cinemas first (in the old days), but with Netflix, we got access to it immediately.

I can really warmly recommend this to all parents who would like to show their kids an entertaining and funny animated movie! It shares some similarities with Aladdin, but who cares about that?! :)

In other words, this is a fantastic Netflix original movie worth watching for the entire family.

My Wish Dragon score: 8.5/10

Have you seen the movie? Did you like it? Did your kids like it? I would love to hear your thoughts!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency