Music / FILM REVIEW [ENG - ESP]

After an avalanche of mockery, criticism and memes on different social networks fiercely attacking the film. I came to believe at times that it could be as bad as many people profess. After seeing it, I do not agree with the attacks against the film.

Luego de una avalancha de burlas, criticas y memes en diferentes redes sociales atacando ferozmente la película. Llegue a creer que podía ser tan mala como lo profesan muchas personas. Después de verla, estoy en desacuerdo con los ataques contra el film.


2021-04-24 at 15.21.49.jpg

Source - Edited in photoshop

lineahive.jpg

English


thing is very clear to me. The amount of haters that Sia and Maddie Ziegler have is impressive. They are capable of creating a matrix of opinion attacking the film Music. It is chilling to see the amount of hate they feel in every message of mockery or unfounded criticism.

A few days ago I posted a review of a Dutch film that addressed the delicate issue of social networks and how anyone can be a victim of vile criticism where there is no respect and only seeks to ridicule someone.

Music is Sia Furler's debut as a filmmaker Don't you know who Sia is? She is a singer of Australian origin. Her parents were musicians, so she's been in the music industry since she was born. She started to become famous in the UK in the early 2000s. At that time, most of us living in Latin America did not know this artist.

It was with the song Breath me, which was used in the final sequence of the extraordinary series Six Feet Under (series with a perfect ending) that her fame would grow worldwide. Sia's meteoric rise was unstoppable. A songwriter for other singers, producer, music entrepreneur who has composed songs for movie soundtracks and has even played small roles as an actress, in some of which she plays herself.

With the release of the song Chandelier, she achieved greater repercussion and marked the beginning of a working relationship with Maddie Ziegler, who at the time was 11 years old and famous in the United States for being one of the participants of the reality show Dance Moms.

Ziegler is now a teenager. The Chandelier music video made her a star and super famous. She is mainly a dancer, but has appeared in a few TV series and has worked as an actress in To All the Boys: P.S. I Still Love You. In her next works is the version of West Side Story directed by Spielberg.

Bad reviews, mocking tweets, snarky comments, low ratings on movie websites. They called the film a meaningless disaster. That raised my expectations. I had to see it to make sure all those claims were true.

Now I come to defend many aspects of the film, which is uneven. But it is not the disaster that many claim. The story is not shocking, some characters are stereotypes we've seen in other movies and some parts of the story didn't feel truthful to me and the musical numbers didn't thrill me. But the story has its interesting side of tragedy, pain and love.

Español

Algo que me queda muy claro. La cantidad de Haters que tiene Sia y Maddie Ziegler es impresionante. Capaces de crear matrices de opinión contra la película Music. Es espeluznante ver la cantidad de odio que se sienten en cada mensaje de burla o critica sin fundamentos.

Hace unos días publique la reseña de una película holandesa que abordaba ese delicado tema de las redes sociales y como cualquier persona, puede ser víctima de viles criticas donde no existe respeto, con el objetivo dejar en ridículo a alguien.

Music es el debut de Sia Furler como cineasta ¿No sabes quién es Sia? Es una cantante de origen australiano. Sus padres eran músicos, así que ha estado dentro de la industria musical desde que nació. Comenzó a ser famosa en el Reino Unido a inicios del año 2000. Para esa época, la mayoría de los que vivimos en latino américa no conocíamos a esta artista.

Fue con la canción Breath me, que se utilizo en la secuencia final de la extraordinaria serie Six Feet Under (serie con un final perfecto ) que crecería su fama a nivel mundial. El ascenso meteórico de Sia fue imparable. Compositora para otros famosos cantantes, productora, empresaria musical que ha compuesto canciones para bandas sonoras de películas e incluso ha hecho pequeños roles como actriz, en algunos se interpreta a ella misma.

Con el lanzamiento de la canción Chandelier, alcanzo mayor repercusión y marco el inicio de una relación laboral con Maddie Ziegler, quien para ese momento tenía 11 años de edad y era famosa en Estados Unidos por ser una de las participantes del Reality Show Dance Moms.

Ziegler ahora es una adolescente. El video musical de Chandelier la convirtió en estrella y súper famosa. Ella es principalmente bailarina, pero ha participado en algunas series de televisión y trabajado como actriz en To All the Boys: P.S. I Still Love You. Entre sus próximos trabajos esta la versión West Side Story dirigida por Spielberg.

Malas críticas, tweets de burlas, comentarios sarcásticos, bajas puntuaciones en las páginas web de cine. Calificaban el film como un desastre sin sentido. Eso aumento mis expectativas. Tenía que verla para cerciorarme si todas las afirmaciones eran ciertas.

Ahora vengo en plan de defender parte del film, el cual es irregular. Pero no es el desastre que muchos aseguran.La historia no es impactante, algunos personajes son estereotipos que hemos visto en otros films y algunos tramos de la historia no me parecieron veraces y los números musicales no me emocionaron. Pero la historia tiene su lado interesante de tragedia, dolor y amor.

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

2021-04-24-at-15.25.gif

Source

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

What is the plot of Music?

Music is an autistic teenager who lives with her grandmother Millie. After Millie's sudden death from a heart attack, the responsibility of caring for Music falls to her half-sister Zu, who is a woman with alcohol addiction problems, makes a living selling drugs to wealthy clients and is on probation. Zu has not seen Music for years. Now she is at a crossroads, her life is a mess and she doesn't feel capable of taking care of her autistic sister. He gets help from his neighbor Ebo, a Ghanaian immigrant who is always in a good mood and has an optimistic outlook on life. Will Zu manage to rebuild his chaotic life? Will he get Masic into an institution where she can be cared for? Will he solve his money problems? It is no longer just her life that is at stake, now an autistic girl, who cannot fend for herself, will be completely dependent on her.

¿Cuál es la Trama de Music?

Music es una adolescente autista que vive con su abuela Millie. Tras la repentina muerte de Millie de un infarto, la responsabilidad de cuidar de Music recae en su hermanastra Zu, quien es una con problemas de adicción al alcohol, se gana la vida vendiendo drogas a clientes ricos y está en libertad condicional. Zu tiene años sin ver a Music. Ahora se encuentra en una encrucijada, su vida es un desastre y no se siente capaz de cuidar de su hermana autista. Recibirá la ayuda de su vecino Ebo, un inmigrante Ghanes que siempre está de buen humor y tiene una visión optimistas de la vida. ¿Lograra Zu rehacer su caótica vida? ¿Llevara a Masic a una institución donde puedan cuidarla? ¿Solventara sus problemas de dinero? Ya no solo es su vida la que está en juego, ahora una chica autista, que no puede valerse por sí misma, dependerá por completo de ella.

linehive400normal.jpg


2021-04-24 at 15.29.29.jpg

Source

linehive400normal.jpg

The plot sounds interesting. A young autistic girl is left homeless after the death of her grandmother, the only person who cared for her. She has only her stepsister as family, whose mother is long dead and was a drug addict.

The plot has been seen in similar movies. The sister does not want to take on this great responsibility. She is not and does not feel up to it. Music needs special care and Zu leads a wild life trying to stay sober and wanting to sell enough drugs to rich customers to move to Costa Rica.

Her sister Music is an obstacle to her dreams, but at the same time she will bring out good feelings and love. Because Zu is a good person, he has just had a hard life. The opportunity to redeem herself and make a radical change in her life will come when she returns to her grandmother's house and strengthens the ties that bind her to Music.

So far so good, a typical story that does not pretend to change any cinematic paradigm. It is a very conventional story, but it is not as bad as it is said in social networks.

La trama es interesante. Una joven autista se queda desamparada al morir su abuela, la única persona que la cuidaba. Solo tiene como familia, a su media hermana, cuya madre de ambas murió hace un tiempo y era una adicta a las drogas.

El argumento se ha visto en películas similares. La hermana no quiere hacerse cargo de esa gran responsabilidad. No está ni se siente capacitada para hacerlo. Music necesita cuidados especiales y ella lleva una desenfrenada vida intentando mantenerse sobria con el deseo de vender suficientes drogas a los clientes ricos para irse a vivir Costa Rica.

Su hermana Music es un obstáculo para los planes, pero al mismo tiempo hará que vuelvan a salir a flote los buenos sentimientos y el amor. Porque Zu es una buena persona, solo que ha tenido una vida difícil. La oportunidad de redimirse y hacer un cambio radical en su vida llegara cuando regrese a la casa de su abuela y estreche los lazos que la unen a Music.

Hasta aquí todo me parece muy bien, una típica historia que no pretende cambiar ningún paradigma cinematográfico. Es una historia muy convencional, pero no es tan mala como lo aseguran en redes sociales.

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

2021-04-24-at-15.27.gif

Source

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

What are the negative points of the film?

There are several aspects that were not to my liking. First of all, the beginning of the conflict does not seem credible to me. Music is autistic and the neighbor friend of her grandmother Millie, knows that Zu has addiction problems, and even once broke into her apartment to rob her. But he calls her to take care of Music. I don't believe it! Any responsible person would have called social services there.

The second aspect that detracts from the credibility of the story is that everyone in the film is good. There is no room for human ambiguity. The musician, after eating her fried eggs, takes a stroll through the neighborhood, where everyone is friendly and attentive to her. It's a multicultural neighborhood, full of immigrants from different countries and where there doesn't seem to be any crime or danger of a rapist or serial killer kidnapping Music. I can't believe it. I'm sorry.

¿Cuáles son los puntos negativos del film?

Son varios los aspectos que no fueron de mi agrado. Primero, el inicio del conflicto no me parece creíble. Music es autista y el vecino sabe que Zu tiene problemas de adicción, incluso una vez entro a su apartamento para robarlo. Pero el la llama para que se haga cargo de Music. ¡No me lo creo! Cualquier persona responsable llama a los servicios sociales de ese país.

El segundo aspecto que le resta credibilidad a la historia, es que todos en la película son buenos. No hay lugar para la ambigüedad del ser humano. Music después de comer sus huevos fritos, da un paseo por el barrio, donde todos son amables y bondadosos con ella. Es un barrio multicultura, lleno de inmigrantes de diferentes países y donde parece que no existe la delincuencia ni el peligro de que un violador o asesino en serie rapte a Music. ¡Esto no puedo creérmelo! Lo siento.

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

2021-04-24 at 15.31.09.jpg

Source

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

Now on to the third element and that I'm going to be kind. I found Maddie Ziegler's performance irritating at times. But I'm not going to launch a vicious attack on her. I find a lot of ugly things that have been said about her performance unfair. I have seen autistic people behave as Music does in the film. I think the dancer and actress took on a big challenge by accepting the character.

Apparently, the young woman was hesitant to do the job. It was Sia who convinced her to do it and that she would always support her in the face of any negative criticism she might receive.

I congratulate Maddie Ziegler for having the courage to accept to do that performance. She is not an established actress. She's still in the process of training and it's a difficult role. I'm not going to throw stones at her. Her character can irritate at certain times and perhaps a better character build was needed. I would have added some changes to her, to give her more emotional depth and to nuance the gestures a bit.

The last aspect I criticize the film is that Ziegler's performance also suffers at the time of each musical performance. When the musical numbers happen I don't see the character. I see is Maddie Ziegler in a Sia music video. That affects my perception of the character. The opposite happens with the other characters, for example when Kate Hudson is the main character in the musical parts, I could see Zu, the character she plays.

This may be due to my perception of Ziegler. Having seen her since she was a child on the reality show and then the high exposure she had in Sia's videos. I admire the singer and the early videos with Ziegler are a marvel and I watched them thousands of times. I think this affected my perception of the Music character.

The musical numbers were just right. They have all the hallmarks of Sia's productions. That plays both to her advantage and disadvantage. Sia's music videos used to be a marvel, but for a while now I get the feeling that they are a constant repetition, recycling ideas from the most successful videos, repeating themselves and adding ever more extravagant and colorful elements to generate impact. But none of the musical numbers in the film really made an impact on me. None of them are spectacular.

Ahora vamos al tercer elemento. Seré amable. La actuación de Maddie Ziegler por algunos momentos me pareció irritante. Pero no voy a lanzar un ataque feroz contra ella. Me parecen injustas muchas cosas feas que se han dicho de su interpretación. Yo he visto autistas que se comportan como lo hace Music en el film. Creo que la bailarina y actriz asumió un gran reto al aceptar el personaje.

Al parecer, la joven estuvo indecisa en hacer el trabajo. Fue Sia que la convenció de hacerlo y la apoyaría siempre ante las críticas negativas que pudiera recibir.

Felicito a Maddie Ziegler por tener el valor de aceptar hacer esa interpretación. Ella no es una actriz de larga trayectoria. Todavía está en proceso de formación y es un rol difícil. No voy a lanzar piedras contra ella. Su personaje puede irritar en determinados momentos y quizás hizo falta una mejor construcción del personaje. Yo le hubiese agregado algunos cambios, para dotarla de mayor profundidad emocional y matizar un poco los gestos.

El último aspecto que le critico al film es que la actuación de Ziegler también se ve afectada al momento de cada espectáculo musical. Cuando ocurren los números musicales no veo al personaje. Veo es a Maddie Ziegler en un vídeo musical de Sia. Eso afectaba mi percepción del personaje. Todo lo contrario ocurre con los otros personajes, por ejemplo cuando Kate Hudson es la protagonista de las partes musicales, yo lograba ver a Zu, el personaje que interpreta.

Esto puede ser causado por la percepción que tengo de Ziegler. El haberla visto desde que era una niña en el Reality Show y luego la alta exposición que tuvo en los videos de Sia. Yo admiro a la cantante y los primeros vídeos con Ziegler son una maravilla. Los vi miles de veces. Esto afecto mi percepción del personaje Music.

Los números musicales fueron correctos. Tienen todas las características de las producciones de Sia. Eso juega tanto a su favor como en su contra. Los vídeos musicales de Sia eran una maravilla, pero desde hace un tiempo siento que son una constante repetición, reciclando ideas de los vídeos más exitosos, repitiéndose y agregando elementos cada vez más extravagantes y colorido para generar impacto. Pero realmente ninguno de los números musicales de la película me impacto. Ninguno es espectacular.

linehive400normal.jpg

2021-04-24 at 15.34.04.jpg

Source

linehive400normal.jpg

The controversy

The film had its controversial moment. When it was nominated for two Golden Globes, the crystal generation, the same people who launched harsh attacks against the film on twitter were outraged by the nominations. They even started a ridiculous signature campaign to get the foreign press to withdraw the nominations.

What bothered them so much? According to some associations and individuals, they found it offensive that actress Maddie Ziegler played an autistic character. Are these people crazy? Reader friend, the job of an actor/actress is to interpret and that's what Maddie does, interpret. She does her job, no need to look for an autistic actor. Then masterpieces like Rain Man wouldn't exist.

But the scandal was bigger when they criticized that in one of the scenes the character Music suffers a hysterical attack, which puts her in danger of hurting herself. In the scene, another character calms her down by using a little force to hold her down and prevent her from continuing to get upset. He manages to calm her down. I saw a quite believable scene, because when an autistic person suffers this kind of attack, he runs the risk of hurting himself or someone else. You have to act fast. The glass generation was screaming on twitter that this was offensive and that the message was to subdue by force. For God's sake, these people are crazy!

Sia, who in addition to directing, co-wrote the script with Dallas Calyton had to come out and make a statement to the media. Apologizing to those who felt offended. Something I do not agree with is that an artist comes out to apologize, but it is not the first time that Sia does it, later I will tell you about the previous controversies. The director clarified that they consulted with experts on the subject and that the intention was not to offend. At no time did I find the film offensive, on the contrary, it is excessively benevolent, but how to make the haters and trolls see reason? It's impossible.

Sia has come out before to apologize for old controversies over her music videos. With the Chandelier video, some voices were heard criticizing Ziegler's alleged sexualization in the video. But the criticism was strong with the music video for the song Elastic Heart in 2015. The video starred Zigler and actor Shia LaBeouf, both in a cage in which they did a dance in which there were rough moves, submission and especially the fact that Ziegler was still a child and LeBouf an adult. I loved the video and never saw anything wrong with it, but the world is so bad, that perverse minds accused Sia of pedophilia apology. nonsense!

What is currently known is that Sia had a love affair with the actor, who deceived her by telling her he was alone, when in fact he was dating Mia Got. That's why Sia is one of those who have joined the accusations that have been launched by several ex-partners of the actor to cause him emotional damage. I agree that if the actor hit one of his partners, he should have legal consequences. But just for being unfaithful, most men in the world would be convicted. Do you realize the inconsistencies surrounding these cases?

La polémica

El film tuvo su momento polémico. Cuando fue nominado a dos Globos de Oro, la generación de cristal, los mismos que lanzan duros ataques contra el film por twitter se escandalizo por las nominaciones. Hasta comenzaron una ridícula recolección de firmas para que la prensa extranjera descartara las nominaciones.

¿Qué les molesto tanto? Según algunas asociaciones y personas, les pareció ofensivo que la actriz Maddie Ziegler interpretara un personaje autista. ¿Esta gente es loca? Amigo lector, el trabajo de un Actor/Actriz es interpretar y eso es lo que hace Maddie. ¡Interpretar! Ella hace su trabajo, no es necesario buscar un actor autista. Entonces obras maestras como Rain Man no existirían.

Pero el escándalo fue mayor cuando criticaron que una de las escenas el personaje Music sufre una ataque de histeria, la cual la pone en peligro de hacerse daño a sí misma. En la escena otro personaje la tranquiliza usando un poco de fuerza para sostenerla y evitar que siga alterada. Logrando tranquilizar. Yo vi una escena bastante creíble, porque cuando alguien autista sufre este tipo de ataque, está en riesgo de hacer daño el mismo o causar daño otra persona. Hay que actuar rápido. La generación de cristal vociferaba por twitter que esto era ofensivo y que el mensaje era que había que someter a la fuerza. ¡Por dios! ¡Esta gente está mal de la cabeza!

Sia, que además de dirigir, coescribió el guion con Dallas Calyton tuvo que salir a declarar ante los medios de comunicación. Pidiendo disculpas para los que se sintieron ofendidos. Algo con lo que estoy en desacuerdo es que un artista salga a pedir perdón, pero no es la primera vez que Sia lo hace, mas adelante les cuento las anteriores polémicas. La directora dejo claro que se asesoraron con expertos en el área y que la intención no era ofender. En ningún momento el film me pareció ofensivo, al contrario se excede de benévolo. ¿Pero como haces entrar en razón a haters y trolls? ¡Es imposible

Sia ha salido antes a disculparse con viejas polémicas por sus vídeos musicales. Con el video Chandelier se escucharon algunas voces criticando la supuesta sexualizacion de Ziegler en el vídeo. Pero las críticas fueron fuertes con el vídeo musical de la canción Elastic Heart en el año 2015. El vídeo era protagonizado por Ziegler y el actor Shia LaBeouf , ambos en una jaula donde hacían una danza donde entra en juego movimientos rudos , sumisión y especialmente el hecho de que Ziegler todavía era una niña y LeBouf un adulto. A mí me encanto el video y nunca vi nada malo, pero el mundo esta tan mal, que las mentes perversas acusaron a Sia de apología a la pedofilia. ¡Un despropósito!

Lo que si se sabe actualmente, es que Sia mantuvo una relación amorosa con el actor, quien la engaño diciéndole que estaba solo, cuando en realidad el tenia una relación con Mia Got. Por ese motivo Sia es una de las que se ha sumado a las acusaciones que han lanzado varias ex parejas del actor de causarle daño emocional. Estoy de acuerdo que si el actor golpeo a una de sus parejas, debe tener consecuencias legales. ¿Pero solo por mentir y ser infiel? la mayoria de los hombres del mundo estaríamos condenados. ¿Se dan cuenta de las inconsistencias en torno a estos casos?

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg


2021-04-24 at 15.30.50.jpg

Source

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

The main cast includes Maddie Ziegler playing Music. I give her a virtual round of applause for her bravery in accepting this character. I cheer her on, because I always see her as that little girl who impressed me in the Chandelier video. Kate Hudson plays Zu, Music's sister. Her performance is the best in the film and she deserves the nomination she got at the last Golden Globe. Her character handles many clichés, but the actress' talent makes her stand out, even in the musical performances.

El elenco principal está conformado por Maddie Ziegler interpretando a Music. Yo le doy un aplauso virtual por su valentía al aceptar este personaje. La apoyo, porque siempre la ver como esa niña que me impresiono en el video Chandelier. Kate Hudson interpreta a Zu, la hermana de Music. Su interpretación es la mejor del film y tuvo bien merecida su nominación al Globo de Oro. Su personaje maneja muchos clichés, pero el talento de la actriz la hace resaltar, hasta en los espectáculos musicales.

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

Leslie Odom Jr plays Ebo, the Ghanaian immigrant who runs a small boxing gym for the neighborhood kids. But he also hides a heartbreaking secret. We've seen the actor in recent films like Harriet, Only , Hamilton and One Night in Miami. Keep an eye out for the actor who will soon appear in The Sopranos prequel miniseries The Many Saints of Newark. Mary Kay Place plays Millie, Music's grandmother and Hector Elizondo plays the kindly landlord Abel. Both are very small characters.

Leslie Odom Jr interpreta a Ebo, el inmigrante de Ghana que tiene un pequeño gimnasio de boxeo para niños del barrio. Pero además esconde un desgarrador secreto. Hemos visto al actor en películas recientes como Harriet, Only , Hamilton y Una Noche en Miami. Atentos al actor que próximamente aparecerá en la mini serie precuela de Los Soprano: The Many Saints of Newark. Mary Kay Place interpreta a Millie, la abuela de Music y Héctor Elizondo interpreta al amable casero Abel. Ambos personajes muy pequeños.

linehive400normal.jpg

2021-04-24 at 15.35.09.jpg

Source

linehive400normal.jpg

The film was nominated for two Golden Globes. It won neither. But it is nominated for the Razzie Awards, that parody of the Oscars, which rewards the worst in cinema. But that doesn't mean the movie is bad. Don't be swayed by appearances and the biased opinions of haters. I liked this movie better than Cherry, which is a bad movie.

Music is a movie that I found enjoyable. It is not a bad movie. The story is very trite and the musical performances didn't make an impact on me. But it has an excellent performance by Hudson. It is a story of disgraced souls, who in the midst of trouble and tragedy manage to discover true love.

For big Sia fans, Music is a show you will enjoy.

El film estuvo nominado a dos globos de Oro. No gano ninguno. Pero está nominado a los premios Razzie, esa parodia de los premios Oscar, que premian lo peor del cine. Pero eso no quiere decir que el film sea malo. No te dejes llevar por las apariencias y por las opiniones sesgadas de los haters. Este film me gusto más que Cherry, esa si es una mala película.

Music es un film que me pareció agradable. No es mala película. La historia es muy trillada y los espectáculos musicales no me impactaron. Pero tiene una excelente actuación de Hudson. Es una historia de almas en desgracia, que en medio de problemas y tragedias logran descubrir el verdadero amor.

Para los grandes fans de Sia, Music es un espectáculo que van a disfrutar.

linehive400normal.jpg

2021-04-24 at 15.28.57.jpg

Source

linehive400normal.jpg

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

My Ranking:


3.2/5

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

Trailer

Source

lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

POSTER

2021-04-24 at 15.23.08.jpg

Source


lineahiveultradelgada.jpg

Gifs and separators made by me in photoshop

Other recent film reviews

Night in Paradise / FILM REVIEWThe Columnist (De Kuthoer) / FILM REVIEW Made for Love/ TV SERIES REVIEW

lineahive.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments