I LIKE TO WATCH #27 - 9/11 Phone Calls from the Towers

As we mark the 20th anniversary of the September 11, 2001 attacks on the World Trade Center, this is a time to reflect. As I was scrolling through the documentary section not looking for anything in particular, I came across the film 9/11 Phone Calls from the Towers. Within this tender and touching work are the last voices of people trapped in the Twin Towers.

This was a tragedy I slept through that day, not awakening until 2 PM. When I did, the world had changed. We hear answering machine messages left by those trapped inside the north and south towers. Many of these tapes have never been shared with the public before, and for that we can thank the family members of the lost. What will really touch your heart is how thankful the wives and husbands, mothers, fathers, and siblings were at being able to say "I love you" one last time.

"Stay where you are, we're coming to get you"

Some of the people shared their final moments with a 911 operator. Early on before many knew what was happening, the instructions to "stay put" ring out over the telephone lines. Some had their egress blocked by debris and damaged stairwells. Others followed the instructions to stay where they were given out by first responders following their training. As I'm watching, inside I'm almost willing them to get out if they can.

If you weren't around on that day twenty years ago, I can share the uncertainty we all felt early on. Was it terrorism or the work of a foreign government? Was this the beginning of world war 3? No one knew. But I can tell you that seeing American flags everywhere, gave me some sense of comfort, much as the family members gave to those in New York, Washington DC, and over the rolling hills south of Johnstown, Pennsylvania.

This tragedy produced a change in me when it comes to crisis situations. On campus we've been told that in an active shooter situation, we should shelter in place. Thinking of the students hunkering down in the library at Columbine High School in 1999, I decided to make use of situational awareness to get out if possible. Many were able to get out from the lower floors of the tower, but this film is about those who couldn't.

As you view this important documentary, take a moment and hug a loved one. If someone wronged you, let it go, as you never know if today will be the last time together with them. I'd also like to take a moment and salute the brave members of the New York Fire Department who ran into danger to rescue those that they could. May each and every soul now rest in Heaven above.

If you liked this article, please give an upvote and rehive, thanks!

Please check out my recent posts:

Image credit: 1


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency