I LIKE TO WATCH #25 - Phone Booth

Took a chance on a lazy night while looking for something to watch. I saw the trailer for the 2003 movie Phone Booth and was intrigued by the premise. The setting is New York City, where Colin Ferrell plays a slick, cocky young PR agent Stuart Shepard trying to seal the deal on his latest hustle. He thinks he’s the big apple of The Big Apple, but what he doesn't realize, is that he's about to enter a zone where his life will be changed forever.

That zone is a phone booth...

Stalked by a killer with a high-powered rifle, Stu finds himself trapped in a web of his own making. The walls are closing in on the faux world he’s constructed and the eyes of the world are upon him. Deep, dark secrets come crawling back to haunt him leading up to terrifying choices that have to be made as the deadly tension mounts.

You'll recognize the voice on the other end of the line in the person of Kiefer Sutherland who turns in a chilling performance as the disembodied killer. He’s not a man to be messed with and means every word that he says. It’s his way or the highway. Question is, which road will Stu take? Decisions have consequences, and time is running out. The rest of this excellent cast is filled out by Forest Whitaker and Katie Holmes, who each turn in powerful performances in this very compelling film.

The opening scene drew my interest into becoming invested in watching until the surprising ending. Now, I won't give anything away, but I'll say there's a twist that'll make you long for a sequel. I spent a harrowing but delightful 80 minutes with eyes glued to the screen, in this fast-paced movie. I'm so glad I took this trip into the Phone Booth and invite you to come along for one thrilling ride! I'm gonna watch it again!

If you liked this article, please give an upvote and rehive.

Please check out my recent posts:

Image credit: 1
Video credit: 1


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency