The Da Vinci Code - Movie Review

When I first saw this film about 5 years ago, I hated it. All I remember was a super confusing plotline with poorly executed character development. But I saw the trailer for the upcoming film, 'Inferno', I had to urge to give this film a second chance. I'm glad I did because I had fun watching The Da Vinci Code. But I must warn potential viewers, you must have a slight interest in religious history to enjoy this movie. If you don't, then this film is not for you. I am not the most religious person in the world. Although I was baptized Catholic, I don't regularly go to church and am not aware of every story told in the bible, but I do find it somewhat interesting. That's what kept me invested. One actor who really helped me understand and want to keep watching was Ian McKellen. Although Tom Hanks is my favourite actor, he doesn't really have that much of a character. You follow him on this journey because... well, he's Tom Hanks but Ian McKellen gives a fun performance and one that really helps the film. Although I was interested throughout most of it, I would be lying to say that the plot is a bit thin and confusing. The villain of the movie was never really explained and how Tom Hanks is brought into this manhunt across Paris isn't explained well either. The script is rather weak. But overall, because I was interested in the conspiracy behind the Holy Grail and Jesus Christ's bloodline, I enjoyed this movie. Certainly not for everyone though.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center