YGMI

Crypto culture gives me optimism and hope.

120 aliens .png
Building obduction A by rgcryptoartist, displayed from the Quixotic Flux collection

Without crypto, the world looks pretty bleak. Opportunities can seem hard to find, especially in today's context where many people are still nervous (unfortunately) to leave the house and meet up with other people.

Online, if you choose the path of Web 3.0, opportunities are abundant.

Couch Surfing is Off the Menu

The entire idea of visiting people and allowing for spontaneity to dictate what happens next seems bizarre now.

All public plans, anything involving people coming together, has pretty much been stifled as a result of the cultural implosion following the pandemic. I was all about being safe and careful for quite a long time, I even got my two shot vaccine and mostly social distanced for close to 18 months.

Many on Hive would call me a fool for even doing that much -- fair enough -- but I do tend to play along with society when I can.

Yet, even for me, shit seems insane now. Two weeks to slow the curve seems to have become two years to shut down society, and I don't really know the plan. All I know is, courch surfing is off the menu.

Yet, WAGMI

Nonetheless I feel tremendous optimism. Even though my life in North Carolina fell apart, even though I haven't been to a concert or a recording studio in 18 months, even though I'm still an obscure content creator and video game streamer, I feel optimism.

I don't just think I'm going to make it, it seems like WE'RE ALL GOING TO MAKE IT.

The amount of opportunities within crypto are profound. In the last six months, I've gone from a $14 "investment" in Splinterlands (summoner's spellbook + two untamed packs) to having quite a few thousands of dollars worth of assets across many games, between staked tokens and NFT assets.

Furthermore I've seen many of my friends join me on this journey. I've watched as @mustachepod slowly transitions towards more crypto NFT art and NFT-style gaming -- I remember showing him Crypto Kitties back in 2018 and neither one of us "getting it." How far we've come!

Likewise I've seen my friend @sartz go from being a funny dude in my Twitch chat for a non-crypto game, TemTem, to absolutely killing it on NFT Showroom and in several NFT games.

Most recently, @hitmanthe3rd hit the scene hard as an NFT collector, aspiring artist, and gamer. He's even finding time for his old friends with an Old School Runescape Group Iron Man somehow. Legendary! He's just started his journey as an Axie Scholar in my group and it's awesome to see him get going in that world too.

There are so many people, and not enough time! @koromanti recently started posting content around crypto games, including some great insights on Gods Unchained which are helpful for me to keep up with that game. @gorilas21 learned about crypto gaming from me and actually leapfrogged my progress, becoming an Axie manager way before I did. There are so many stories!!

YGMI

The point of this post is to encourage you to keep going. Don't give up, don't quit, don't pivot so hard that you fundamentally change your plan.

It can feel like things are moving so fast that you're missing your chance -- you AREN'T. It's the opposite. This isn't a game of musical chairs where people have to get left out. It isn't zero sum. This is a huge opportunity, but it's not once-in-a-lifetime per se, its more like MANY times in a lifetime. Crypto is going to evolve and take form for decades to come.

Don't be complacement, but also don't panic. There is as much danger in rushing forwards as there is in hanging back. Few will miss out due to patience, but many will "rush in" and take huge losses on scams or idealistic but poorly planned projects.

You will make it. Give yourself the time to do it right.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency