31 days of posting every day - a lesson on discipline

1 motnh of posting every day on HIVE.png

Gm Hivers!

Today marks 31 days of posting every day to the amazing HIVE blockchain. I was super happy to be rewarded with my very first Monthly Author badge on hivebuzz.me

Monthly Author badge on Hivebuzz.png

Some of my posts have been 1000 word blogs, some have been updates on my Hive goals, writing contests, quotes and a few have been super fun Hive Open Mic entries (If you’re into music, I highly recommend you check these out)

This is my latest entry if you haven't checked it out:


I definitely enjoyed the more regular blogging, as I get to practice my writing skills and it does help you be more observant of what goes on in one’s daily life, and even be grateful for the little things that might go unnoticed when you’re not thinking about a future blog topic.

I’d also like to point out that I did feel like a few more folks have been commenting on my posts, which is super cool because I love replying, getting a reply back and re-replying to folks in the community. Engaging with other human beings is a huge part of being a Hive community member and I absolutely loved that about my month as a daily poster on HIVE.

I also learned another very important lesson. Let me give you a little bit of background. On Chinese New year, I spent a lot of time writing a very detailed and educational post about Chinese lunar new year: Chinese lunar new year was absolutely amazing! I did some research, added a lot of pictures and information about the Chinese community in my country. I was expecting my post to be discovered by a curator, since, in my opinion, it was worthy of a few upvotes from anybody searching for good quality blog posts on HIVE: it had a decent word count, it had lots of pictures, it was educational, it was fun! But no. I got only a few upvotes and almost no comments. At first I was a bit frustrated. How is it that some of my best work goes unnoticed and unrewarded here on HIVE? But after some of my frustration blew over, I remembered that this has happened to EVERYBODY who has made HIVE their home for any significant amount of time… Daltono, Jongo, Task…. I’m sure all of these guys have put in hours into a blog post only to get 0.02 HIVE in payout. I think you don’t even get dust payouts because they’re too small, lol.

a dollar an hour.gif

So the lesson learned is this: there will be good days on HIVE and there will be bad days on HIVE. As long as we focus on adding value to the blockchain and we keep a long-term mentality, it doesn’t matter; the result after a few years will be the same: We’ll do the Star trek nod of approval with more and more people who are building, adding value to the hive ecosystem and realize that HIVE’s super powers are true account ownership, censorship resistance and fast and free transactions on an immutable, decentralized protocol.

star-trek-nod.gif

We'll see that we're all showing up every day and putting in the work, and we will show each other support by commenting, voting and sharing each other's content, thereby creating even more use cases and value for Hive and thus attracting more users to Hive which will add even more value to the ecosystem... and so on. This concept is Jim Collin's Flyewheel, which occurs when small gains accumulate over time, creating momentum that keep creating a positive feedback loop of growth.

This is what I believe is happening on Hive. Sure, it's slow, but it's consistent and organic. No hype, no VC, no pump & dump, no rugpull.

Will I continue to write every day of the year? probably not. I don't want to pressure myself that way. I'll definitely keep writing multiple times a week though, and I'll definitely keep stacking without powering down until after Dec 2026. I'll also keep posting regular updates on the journey to 100,000 HP, which I believe EVERYBODY can achieve.

Here's a Ted Talk by the amazing Stephen Duneier with some words of inspiration if you think I'm crazy:

On this journey, I will keep trying to add value to the Hive ecosystem by powering up as much as I can and showing love to those who (in my opinion) are making kick ass content and got the Hive gleam in their eyes :). I will continue to engage, comment and share as much valuable information as I come across. I will vote on witnesses and DHF proposals and I will eventually come up with ways to give back to the protocol that has given so much to me.

And I don't know, maybe... just maybe... I might inspire one person to do the same in the process.


cover image prompt on Midjourney, edited using Canva

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency