Monochrome Monday - Tulip

For this Monochrome Monday I thought it would be fun to compare the processing on one of the recent tulip pictures I took. In the spring around here there are many farms growing tulips and they all are blooming at once and turn the fields a very pretty color. If it gets nicer again I will try to get out and take some pictures of the tulips fields this year too.

For now here’s a single tulip inside in the sunlight. I processed this first picture using GIMP. There are many types of black and white film simulation to try and it is fun to see the different results.

tulip_bw.jpg
Tulip in black and white film simulation using: Ilford XP2 Super – click for viewing full screen

Below is the original picture as it came out of my Galaxy S9+. I used the zoom lens on this picture.

tulip.jpg
Tulip in color with no processing – click for viewing full screen

Here’s a picture that Google Photos did some color enhancement on. It almost looks glowing to me like the flower has some internal light.

tulip_colored.jpg
Tulip color processed by Google Photos – click for viewing full screen

Comparing the three pictures it seems to me that the first one gives a better depth and feel for the structure of the tulip with more emphasis on the form. I think the others are interesting too in different ways.


Thanks for reading! I always value your support! Special thanks to @old-guy-photos for monochromemonday.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
67 Comments
Ecency