Monochrome Monday – The Dizzy Grasshopper

We rode our bikes back from the park the other day and noticed this grasshopper clinging on to the bicycle chain socket for dear life. I took a quick picture and figured that it would jump off way before we got home.

Here’s the picture processed in GIMP using an Ilford XP2 Super film emulation:

grasshopper_xp2.jpg
Dizzy Grasshopper, using Ilford XP2 Super film simulation – click for viewing full screen

Here’s the original picture for comparison:

grasshopper_org.jpg
Dizzy Grasshopper original photo – click for viewing full screen

I liked the way the black and white showed off the texture of mechanical parts of the bicycle and made the grasshopper look out of place. I figured that adding a little color back to her would be appropriate.

I’d be looking pretty green too if I rode all that way moving around and around like that. Check out her eyes, that’s one confused and sick looking grasshopper, lol.

grasshopper_art.jpg
Dizzy Grasshopper combination – click for viewing full screen

When we stopped I gently removed the grasshopper from the bicycle and put it on the ground. Even with a bit of prodding with my finger the grasshopper didn’t really want to move but finally jumped a bit.

We figured the grasshopper would finds its way again once the world stopped spinning around. Maybe the grasshopper was having a grand old time like some young kid riding a roller coaster over and over again. Or maybe the fall weather and centrifugal force had left it too confused for action. Who knows?


Thanks for reading! I always value your support and comments. The pictures were taken by me with my Galaxy S9+. Text and graphics copyright 10/8/2018 steemit.com/@lightsplasher & weku/@litesplasher. Special thanks to @old-guy-photos for hosting monochromemonday.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency