Welcome Back Modafinil Old Friend

If you've ever seen the film Limitless, or heard the term 'smart drug', you are most likely aware of a drug called Modafinil. I personally discovered it around six years ago after watching the aforementioned Limitless. in the film the main character finds an experimental drug which gives him enhanced cognitive powers.

It's an extremely entertaining film that I've seen numerous times and would highly recommend, however after watching it for the first time, I thought to myself, obviously this is fantasy, but I wonder if there is a drug that can make you smarter.

At the time I had vaguely heard the term smart drug, so I knew that there was something out there, I just didn't know what. Anyway, I got onto Google, and it turned out that many people had had that exact same thought, by the time I got to Is there such a thing as the L, Google auto completed the sentence for me by adding imitless drug.

After around six weeks of research and about four scientific papers and countless reviews, I decided to order my first batch, it turned out that whilst it was illegal to sell Modafinil in the United Kingdom to anyone without a prescription, that law only seemed to apply to UK pharmacies, so various companies sell it completely legally online.

My First Time

The first time I took Modafinil was an amazing experience I'll never forget. At the time I was starting a sports betting website and needed to create a ton of content so that the site didn't seem empty. I took one half of a 200mg Modalert pill and within half an hour was zoned in.

All the tasks I needed to complete, seemed to line themselves up in order in my head, I picked the first one, concentrated on it for two hours, completed it, and without so much as a cup of tea, moved onto the next thing.

Eight hours later I had a ton of work done and not one ounce of fatigue plagued me, I was sold, hook, line, and sinker.

The Contempt of Familiarity

I basically became totally addicted to Modafinil, well, not the drug itself, as it doesn't give you any noticeable buzz, more I was addicted to the amount of work I could do on it. Before I knew it, I was taking it pretty much every day, and this went on for at least a year.

Then one day, I stopped.

I found that whilst I still appeared to have concentration, I seemed to have lost the ability to focus on the most important stuff I needed to do. Instead, I'd take a Modafinil, and then find myself on Facebook after four hours of mindless scrolling and clicking. My earlier productivity had dropped to zero, and to top that off I had just had a business that failed in the first few months of trying, which clearly added to my feelings of dejection.

So I stopped with no ill effects, no cravings or cold turkey symptoms, although I will say that my feelings of being an unfocused mess did seem to magnify somewhat.

The Old Friend Returns

At the moment I am trying to write a novel and of course am experiencing the same lockdown rules that most of us are. On the face of it, it would seem that it's the perfect time to write a book, day after day I have nothing other to worry about than feeding myself and my family, and walking the dog, no work, no going out, nothing to distract me.

The problem is, I have a wife and child, and a small two bedroom apartment with no spare room to go off and write in. To top this off, my wife is a teacher, and is still delivering lessons over Zoom and Google classroom.

All of that is just another way of saying, I just can't focus and write when other people are in the house doing stuff. If I was single, I'd wake up every day and write from about 5 a.m. to probably 5 p.m. but I'm not, so I don't.

So I've been thinking about my old friend Modafinil again. I realise that the last time I simply abused it, and went overboard, causing the effects to wane and in fact have the opposite effect of what they're meant to. This time I realise that I can do about 100mg for ten days out of fourteen, and then I need at least a few weeks rest before even thinking about doing them again.

I had my first 100mg this morning, and it was fantastic! It's like my old friend has come back to say hello and fill me with nostalgia. The book got the much needed boost I've been looking for, and hopefully in this next couple of weeks the Modafinil will help me get back into the habit of a disciplined writing schedule.

I'll report back in a couple of weeks, I think this time I won't let the allure of absolute concentration lead me astray again, hopefully in that fortnight I will be able to knock out around 25,000 words which in addition to what I have already, should be around half the book.

WHAT ABOUT YOU; HAVE YOU TRIED MODAFINIL OR ANY OTHER TYPE OF 'SMART' DRUG? HAVE YOUR EXPERIENCES BEEN GOOD OR BAD?

AS EVER, LET ME KNOW BELOW!

Cryptogee

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency