Mindful Moments: A Dedication, An Important Announcement, and A Small Request.

A Dedication

My dad, how can I best explain him? An original...yes, that’s it.

When we were younger he was never afraid to be silly. Hogan’s Heroes would come on the television and he would do this crazy march to the theme song. He could also whistle the theme to the Andy Griffith show almost flawlessly.

He taught me how to work on bikes at six years of age, and fix cars at age thirteen. He taught me to shoot a rifle, throw a baseball, and a punch. I still remember the day he showed me how to tie a necktie. He also taught me to never take life too seriously. We had an immense amount of fun growing up.

The list of useful lessons he taught me could go on and on but among the most important things he impressed upon me was to never be afraid to take chances, to always do my best, be honorable, and to always try to do the right thing.



My dad, still not taking life too seriously.


Dad was like superman to me when I was a boy. He was strong and refused to take anything from anyone. He would do anything for those people he liked but watch out if you fell on the other side of that spectrum.

It wasn’t until I got a little older than I learned of his tough and horrific childhood. My grandfather died when my dad was three years old. My grandmother tried her best to raise him and his other three siblings as a single mother. Times were different in the 1940's and my grandmother came to the realization that she couldn’t raise her children alone. As a result, my father and his older sister were placed into the foster care system.

During those years my dad suffered a lot of abuse at the hands of some of his foster parents. He tells stories of how he had to keep the coal furnace of his foster parents' home fired at night and was beaten if he fell asleep and let it go out.


My dad and grandmother. My dad was on leave from the military.

To this day he has no ill feelings towards his mother. He understands that she did her best to raise him. They remained close until my grandmother’s death.

Despite the challenges my father went on to have a successful life. He always had a decent job, bought a house, and raised a family. What amazes me most about my dad is he survived it all with a great kindness still intact. He would do anything for the people he cares about. Still, the challenges of his childhood didn’t leave him unscathed. He’s suffered from horrible bouts of depression throughout his entire life.

Announcement

According to the World Health Organization, worldwide, around 50 million people have dementia, and there are nearly 10 million new cases every year. Alzheimer's disease is the most common form of dementia and may contribute to 60–70% of cases.

Those who’ve been reading my blog for a while might remember my father was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease about three-and-a-half years ago. Over this past year, mainly through video calls because of coronavirus, I’ve watched his condition rapidly deteriorate.

He still recognizes my brother and I but no longer knows who my mother is most of the time and is suffering from frequent hallucinations.

Because of his great impact on my life I’ve decided to dedicate my next book, MindFul Moments, to my father. I’ve also decided to donate 10% of the net proceeds of the book sales to The Alzheimer’s Association.


I dedicate this book to my father, Verlo Victor Walton, the man who taught me to be a man. Someone who has gone through unspeakable challenges in his life and survived with kindness still dwelling in his heart. Thank you for everything you’ve done for me. I will always remember our time together on this Earth.


I can tell you firsthand, Alzheimer’s is an unspeakably cruel disease. It not only robs people of their memories but of their identities and dignity. We must find a way to fight it with all of the resources at our disposal. This disease forces the victim’s loved ones to say a very long and painful goodbye, watching the person they know and love fade away, little by little...day by day.

If everything works out as planned, I want to surprise my dad with a copy of Mindful Moments when I go to visit him in early November.

A Small Request

Do me a favor.

Stop whatever you're doing. Reach out to an older relative today that you haven’t talked to for a while.

Give them the gift of a few minutes out of your day, let them know they still matter to you while you still can.

None of us know what will happen tomorrow. Try to enjoy each of the moments that remain.

This one small act could mean all the difference in the world to them (and to you).

With Gratitude,

Eric Vance Walton

(All pictures are original.)


alt text

I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency