MOM or Mind Over Matter

So, here I am at the young age of 53, true in the minds of many this is not a young age. On the other hand, I imagine if you go ahead and ask other 53-year-olds how young they feel and I can imagine a lot would be the same as me, age is in your head.

I am at a point where I am forced to either:

A) Leave my wife for possibly 5 months and return to work in the office in a town that borders the rock of Gibraltar, yes my office-based job is in Gibraltar
B) Take a massive plunge and leave my job and go freelance, issue with that is my skillset is not that great at the moment.

The below picture is of the area where I live now:

la_alqueria_sunset.jpg

The below picture is of the town where I could be going.
la_lins.jpg

Yes, the above picture is more or less a daily occurrence there. It is the town where over 80% of Europe's hashish lands from Morocco and as a bonus the town next door to La Linea is a major port where ships from South America dock and I think we all know which white powder comes from South America!

So, as I am a nature lover and not a town dweller you can see my conundrum, as a song by 'The Clash' goes Should I Stay Or Should I Go,

I for sure should stay where I am!

.So, back to the subject of 'Mind Over Matter.

While I did mention that my skill set is not that great, I possess years of experience within the Customer Service field and can hand 3 Live Chat Sessions on the go whilst also handling a telephone call. I also have a typing speed of some 50 words per minute.

The other skill set I have, while not being that strong at the moment is I know HTML5, CSS3, WordPress, Local SEO and or so I think have the ability to learn JavaScript to which I have been studying.

nubelson_fernandes_6di_4m9qrpg_unsplash.jpg

So, yeah, I am kind of a geeky guy who loves looking at code and enjoys writing it and helping others.

The issue is I hear everywhere, 'Oh you can't do that!' 'What will you do, you just can't leave your job!' 'You're too old to learn to code!'

This is all negativity which of course does not help with your own mind over matter.

I have 45 working days before I would be forced back to the office, am only allowed to work a set amount of days per year to work from home.

45 working days from today puts me at the date of October 18, 2021, though thankfully I also have some holiday saved of some 20 odd days so that buys me another four weeks, roughly.

In this time frame, I have to find freelancing work with the skill-sets I have.

I have decided to create a blog of my efforts jpsaggs. It is in the very early stages and it is only a landing page at the moment.

Here I am going to ask you all a favour if you would be so kind to advise me if my idea for the blog is a good idea by simply replying to this post?

Bearing in mind my age I have decided to aim my blog towards the elder generation and who are looking for help with coding a sort of helpful guidance blog if you like. It will be full of helpful advice and guidance as to where to find helpful resources to help one's coding journey.

The issue I have is getting my mind over this matter of 'You can't do that!' to 'Yes you can do this and you are going to!'

Wish me luck and good luck and happiness to you all!

Many thanks to @apolymask who brought me to this wonderful platform!

forhive.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency