First REAL Steemit NYC Meetup!

It appears we've had a bit of a false alarm regarding the first NYC Steemit Meetup. Here's the story.


If you're on Steemit or steemit.chat, it's no secret that I'm around. A lot. @stellabelle introduced me to steemit.chat, amongst other things, and I've really developed some friendships there with the likes of @inkha and @klye among many others, most recentl @jsteck.

Another user on Steemit posted an invitation to a meetup group and a couple of us regulars were a little bothered by a few details, and an investigation ensued.

Basically, it was uncovered by the fine people #steemitabuse-classic that the poster was a poser, probably trying to capitalize on NYC and meetups, which happens to be popular right now. I spent several hours myself, first trying to offer my help since I'm a native NY'er, and then investigating if this person even had Steemit's best interest in mind. Spoiler: He doesn't.

I'm hosting the SteemitNYCMeetup!

I love Steemit, and unlike that poster, I won't watch someone post a fraudulent NYC meetup just for personal gain.

So... I hope the community will join me in supporting the FIRST NYC Meetup !

Date: Weekend of August 20-21st (Sat or Sunday based on response)
Time: Noonish (heavy on the ish), though I'll be there sharp at high noon.
Contact: Please contact me in chat (@prufarchy)
or via the now official email @ steemitnycmeetup@gmail.com

The location is a fantastic place called Bierstrausse, located at: 697 W 133rd St, New York, NY 10027 on the river overlooking NJ. Here's their Menu .

*Any rewards for the post must be donated, and I need your help deciding how and to whom, please comment.

My opinion is that we should redistribute it to some deserving Steemian/s based on raffle or vote of attendees. Or if we can swing it fast enough, a ticket out to NYC for a community member to join!

Steemit is very transparent, and I encourage investigation and oversight, and can gladly verify myself and my intentions. If no rewards are received, the event will still happen.

This is about meeting some other Steemians in real life!

The time-frame is pretty short to get tshirts printed up, I believe. If anyone has some suggestion on how to quickly get them made/delivered, I'm all ears and open wallet.

I already know @jsteck is going to be in attendance, so leave a comment below. I'll lock down the date and keep the community updated either way.

I'm hoping to see you there!
@prufarchy

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center