Shooting HIGH QUALITY VIDEO With Your SMARTPHONE (#MasterClass)

In today's video I discuss 3 things: The Andrarchists (an incubator/chat-group for new and unrecognized creative talent), Master Classes (an idea which came out of the Andrarchists, the member @razvanelulmarin specifically, for creating educational content tailored specifically to the aspirational content creator on Steemit), and finally the bulk of the video is dedicated to teaching anyone interested how to shoot high quality video content using only your smartphone and natural light.

All you need to start shooting high quality video content is your smartphone and this video contains almost everything you need to know to get quality which is good enough to not distract from your content. More than a few people have reached out to me requesting advice on how to start creating video content and this is my first attempt to address that demand. Hopefully not the last :)

Before getting to the video I just want to make two important points:

  1. For the first couple of minutes I hold my camera in my hand while talking to demonstrate just how distracting and frankly nauseating the experience can be for the viewer. My apologies for this experience, however, my intent was to drive that point home and I sincerely believe that if you hang in there and get through it there is a lot of high quality information in this video that frankly took me years to learn.
  2. One of my first tips may seem like an obvious one: always clean the lenses of your smartphones before shooting with them. In fact, this seems so obvious that I deliver this piece of advice with a bit of snark. That snark is really aimed at THIS GUY (@andrarchy). I can't tell you how many times I have shot something amazing only to realize that the video was blury or hazy. If some of the advice seems obvious, I hope you don't view it as patronizing but instead as an indication of my own incompetence :). Enjoy!

Don't forget to use the comment section to submit requests for future Master Classes. Thanks!

UPDATE: Check out this post from @thisisbenbrick to see just how much can be accomplished with simple hardware (a GoPro) and simple cuts. He used a GoPro to film a music video and he did a great job. He has a great eye and he let the SHOTS (great visuals) do the work.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center